Remove tabs in Messenger 7.0

New and Improved Steps:

  • Download the released version of MSN Messenger 7.0 from here.
  • Read this.

Old, outdated steps.  Please don’t use.

A lot of folks would like to run Messenger 7 without tabs.  This is definitely one of the top feature requests for Messenger 7.

Currently there isn’t any way to turn off tabs in the UI.  But, there is a workaround.  It isn’t easy, but if you really want to get rid of those tabs here is what you do:

  • Uninstall Messenger 7.0 Beta
  • Install 6.2 from here.
  • Once you have 6.2 installed open the main window.
  • From the main window pick Tools, Options from the menu.
  • Choose the Privacy tab.
  • Check the "This is a shared computer so don’t display my tabs" box.
  • Install Messenger 7.0 Beta from here.

Your reward for all that effort should be a slick, streamlined Messenger 7.0 Beta main window that doesn’t have tabs.

Is there something bugging you about the beta?  Let me know!  Post a comment or send me mail.

This entry was posted in Messenger 7 Beta. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Remove tabs in Messenger 7.0

  1. Unknown says:

    ı want it.

  2. Unknown says:

    Also an option to loose the MSN search tool bar. If I wanted to search for something I would go to a search engine page and not a chat program – again another pointless thing that just makes clutter!

  3. Unknown says:

    I think their should be an option to turn off seing your own image in the main messenger pain with out turning it off for other users. Why anyone would want to see thier own image?? a bit pointless I think.

  4. Unknown says:

    I can not uninstall messenger version 7.0 beta, it is not in my add/remove button or in the start menu. How do I accomplish this? thanks

  5. jel says:

    i dont care, it seems to work… that\’s all I want.now, is there an option to loose the banners aswell?i mean, if microsoft forces us to use msn messenger, we should at least have the option of not being bommed by those dang ads, right?

  6. Ari says:

    I know registry entry changes seem to be considered evil. However, I am pretty confident about the specific configuration entry being left over when you install MSN 7 on top of MSN 6, and why the workaround \’happens\’ to have the desired effect.http://blogs.ariglaizel.com/archive/2005/03/01/164.aspxMuch easier than me installing MSN 6 first.

  7. Messenger says:

    Cminido,Your approach, while noteworthy, it isn\’t supported in the beta. So what does that mean "isn\’t supported"? It means the Messenger test team hasn\’t tested the software with that option set so they don\’t know how Messenger will behave in that configuration. They don\’t know if it will increase crashes, cure cancer, or what.I\’d suggest NOT using it. I think is a very good idea to have your software running in a configuration that the manufacturer tested and supports.The product team has received tons of feedback about this and I know they are looking at what they should do in to improve in the final release of 7.

  8. Unknown says:

    Removing tabs without uninstalling an reintalling MSN 7.0 beta :In MSN Messenger 7.0.0205 BETA there is no option available to disable the tabs to the right of your contact list. Of course, we can tell you how to remove the tabs anyway.1) Hit Start > Run and fire up regedit2) Look for the section:HKEY_CURRENT_USER Software Microsoft MSNMessenger PerPassportSettings3) Open all the sections consisting out of a number combination.4) Select the DWORD DisableTabs (if it is not present, create it by right-clicking, selecting New and then DWORD-value).5) Double-click it and change its value to 1.6) Repeat this step for all number combinations.7) Close and restart MSN Messenger.

  9. Siebe says:

    How about an import/export feature for CEs and DPs. And whatdya guys think of storing groups in contactlist XML files (Saves a lot of trouble, especially since I have like 10 groups and I recently switched accounts.. Had to sort out eveyone again). Oh, also, maybe its easier for poeple to just make a registery entry (Provide a .reg key?) instead of having to go through the hassle of reinstalling everything. And I dunno about your games menu, but mine /still/ doesnt work in MSN Messenger 7 (Set country to valid US/zipcode, still nothing). Finally, MSN Messenger seemed to have stored an OLD contactlist XML file, some friends e-mail addresses I removed long time ago were still in it and I missed out 5 people or so who /were/ on my list.Just my 2 cents ;) Otherwise, keep up the great work ^__^

  10. Unknown says:

    Hahah i was just bitching about tabs in my post about messenger. I\’ll have to give this a whirl when I get some more time! Thanks for posting this!

Leave a Reply

