Abbie Review MSN Messenger 7.0 Beta

Abbie has written a great review of the beta release of Messenger 7.  The feedback is mixed, some of positive, some negative and lots of great suggestions.

There are a couple of her points that I would like to reply to:

  • Winks
    • MSN should offer the option of turning off these winks.

Paul beat me to punch on this point.  Winks can be turned off.  If you would like to turn off Winks:

  • Choose Tools, Options from the menu.
  • Click the Messages tab.
  • Uncheck the “Play winks automatically” checkbox.

You will still receive a notification that someone sent you a wink, but it won’t play automatically.

  • Nudges
    • MSN should offer the option of turning these off as well.

Once again, Paul has replied to Abbie on this point.  But for anyone else who would like to know how to turn off Nudges, here’s how:

  • Choose Tools, Options from the menu.
  • Select the Messages tab.
  • Uncheck the “Allow people to send me Nudges” checkbox.

Now when someone sends you a Nudge your screen won’t shake but you will still receive a notification in the conversation window saying “You have just received a Nudge!”

  • Tabs
    • I’ve always hated these.  I have nothing good to say about them.  They are clutter and a means to advertise.  Frankly, I pay for all my MSN stuff.  Why should I be submitted to even more advertising?  Paid users should have the option of removing tabs as well as the advertising at the bottom.

I have a blog entry up that describes a workaround for this.  It is a bit painful, but in Abbie’s case probably worth it.

I get the feeling that Abbie doesn’t like Tabs.

  • Alerts
    • There are these little things called "gleams" that appear by names of users who have an MSN space.  It let’s you know when they update.
    • If you already use the "LiveMessage" alerts this sort of duplicates that, but w/out a pop up alert.
    • The notify alerts (click here for a screencap of notify alert) now show more when they pop up.  You can see the user’s image, etc. in them.

I agree that there is a lot of overlap between LiveMessage Alerts and Gleams.  But there are a couple of important differences. 

Gleams are in the main window.  I start my day by signing into Messenger and I leave the main window open on the right hand side of my monitor all day long.  I can tell at a glance at the main window who on my contact list has updated their space.

Alerts use "toast" and "tabs".  The first time the alert comes in a "toast" (see Abbie’s screen capture here) pops up to notify you.  If you happen to be way from your computer when that happens you miss the toast.  There is a history of received alerts.  You can view it by clicking the tab with the bell icon  or from the menu clicking File, Go To, MSN Alerts Tab.

I can receive Alerts for anyone.  They don’t have to be on my Messenger contacts list.  If they have setup their blog/space with LiveMessage I can plugin.  But I find it is easier for me to track my friend’s and coworkers with gleams.

This entry was posted in Messenger 7 Beta. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Abbie Review MSN Messenger 7.0 Beta

  1. Messenger says:

    You\’re correct! MSN Messenger does behave differently if you are running the MSN Client.When you start the MSN Client it will automatically start Messenger and sign you in using the same credentials that you used when with the client. Also, when you sign out of the client you’ll get signed out of Messenger as well.

  2. Unknown says:

    Let me tell you…I am soooooooooo glad I wrote that thing! The response has been great and I\’m learning a great deal. I am noticing some differences, however, in using the messenger on its own…and using it as part of the MSN Explorer (I\’m a premium user). I get several errors on the Beta when using it via MSN Explorer…but not when I use it alone. I also edited my post to include some of Paul\’s info and a gleam screen cap.The more I learn, the more I like it, but there are still some grey areas that just seem excessive….but I\’m not giving up hope.

Leave a Reply

