One 2005 prediction I completely agree with

Tom Spring at PC World had this to say:

Spam Drives Instant Messaging

In 2005, people tired of missing one valid e-mail in a haystack of spam will turn to instant messaging services from AOL, Microsoft, and Yahoo as an alternative to e-mail. It’s already very popular to chat about both important and inane things on IM. But 2005 will be the year that IM will widely supplant e-mail.

Supporting this trend is the wide adoption of always-on broadband accounts. People will leave their IM software active and use messaging clients to have hybrid phone and text conversations. The result will be fewer long-distance charges and less reliance on e-mail (and exposure to spam).

Adoption of AOL Instant Messenger, MSN Messenger, and Yahoo Messenger will also be accelerated by the capability to archive and retrieve chat sessions. You can already store records of sessions, but doing so will get easier with features inside desktop search tools. For example, Microsoft’s MSN Toolbar Suite automatically keeps searchable logs of chats.

I agree 100%.  Spam is killing the usefulness of SMTP based email and there is no relief in sight.  I find myself using IM more and more for all my communication needs.

IM puts me back in charge of who can send me messages.  A position I haven’t been in with SMTP based email for several years.

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One 2005 prediction I completely agree with

  1. Messenger says:

    I agree that IM Spam, or SPIM, is an emerging problem. The good news is that MSN Messenger has server side Access Control Lists that I can use to manage who can send me an IM. The default is to allow anyone to send me an IM, but that option can be changed under Tools, Options, Privacy.If I turn on the option "Only people on my Allow List can see my status and send me messages" then it doesn\’t matter if the whole world has my IM address, the server won\’t allow them to send me an IM.However, I am NOT suggesting that anyone let the whole world have you IM address.Abbie, I think you make a good point. Spammers will go where the people are. I think there are more barriers with IM than email, a greater level of control for the end user. Let\’s hope it stays that way.

  2. Unknown says:

    Like these messengers aren\’t full of advertising regardless. *cough*tabs*cough*I\’ve always been one who prefers IM\’s to email anyway. I\’ve never had a real problem w/ Spam in my email and am cautious with it.I have gotten spam on IM\’s and even on my cellphone. It\’s inevitable. It\’ll show up anywhere there are pixels. I just prefer the personal touch you get with IM\’s.

  3. Eric Swanson says:

    HAH! Sure… you\’ll do away with SPAM… In your inbox. Haven\’t gotten an unwanted IM, eh? I wrote a program against Trillian (http://www.trillian.cc/) last year that looped my IM contact list and sent a global message to everyone on my list, "Hello World!" Just a proof of concept, but you can imagine what SPAM would be like over IM!!! So, people will eventually get around to spamming your IM client. People are beginning to list their IM nicknames next to their e-mail all over the web. Simply crawl the web for things prefixed with "AIM:" and "ICQ:" and you\’ll receive plenty o\’ ammo. Pop-up hell will never have been so bad!!! And did I mention Viruses? AArgh… That would suck. I\’m consistently amazed at how trivial most viruses really are. This is no challenge by any means. It\’s just that there is so much potential for damage. Good thing… A VERY good thing most people survive large-scale attacks. Keep backing up your data everyone and learn about computer security!

Leave a Reply

