MSN Messenger version 6.2.205 has been released

(Updated 2/9/05)

The Messenger team has released build 6.2.0205.  If you are running MSN Messenger 6.1 or 6.2 I strongly urge you to upgrade.  You can start the install here.

6.2.0205 includes fixes for the security vulnerabilities discussed in MS05-009.

MSN Messenger 7.0 is not vulnerable.  If you are using Messenger 7, you’re fine and dont’ need to take any action (besides turning on anti-virus scanning).

You can download the Messenger 7 beta from here.

The question was raised in the comments "if I have applied all the Windows security updates do I still need to update my version of MSN Messenger".

That’s a great question and the answer is yes.  If you are running 6.2 or 6.2 you should either upgrade to the beta, or upgrade to 6.2.0205.

This entry was posted in MSN Messenger. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to MSN Messenger version 6.2.205 has been released

  1. Messenger says:

    dogg,Did you install 6.2.0205 from http://messenger.msn.com/download?If so, then re-add Messenger to your firewall\’s allow list and see if that fixes it.

  2. craig says:

    ok ive got 6.2 and it wont let me enter

  3. Trevor says:

    I have a question Jeff,If windows updates are done with that security fix on the machine with 6.2. Does the client still need to update the version of messenger? I am assuming so but it\’s just a thought that crossed my mind.

  4. Tom says:

    You mean they update it? I never even knew!

  5. Messenger says:

    Gabe,Thanks for the suggestions, I\’ll pass them along. Are you asking for version of the MSN Toolbar to be posted on http://toolbar.msn.com?

  6. Gabriel says:

    I think it would be nice if you would provide the full version number of MSN Messenger Beta somewhere on the beta download website. For example, today I went looking to see if I needed to upgrade my MSN messenger Beta but had no way of knowing if you had released a never version besides for writing down my current version number, installing the beta client again and comparing the version numbers. p.s. MSN tool bar team, it would be nice if you would post version number of your software too. Thanks for all the hard work

Leave a Reply

