Messenger Sign-in Error: 80048883

If you are using WIndows Live Messenger and encountering this sign-in error
 
1. Clear the SSL Cache
a. Start Microsoft Internet Explorer.
b. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options, and then click the Content tab.
c. Under Certificates, click Clear SSL State.
d. When you receive the message that states that the SSL cache was cleared successfully, click OK.
 
2. Clear the temporary Internet Files
a. Start Microsoft Internet Explorer.
b. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options, and then click the General tab.
c. Under “Temporary Internet Files”, click on “Delete Files”
d. Check “Delete Offline content” and click on OK twice.
 
3. Reregister SSL security libraries. To do this, click Start, click Run, and type in each command below and hit ENTER.
 
Note: After each command is executed successfully, you will receive a "DllRegisterServer succeeded" message. Wait until you receive this message before you continue to the next command.
 
a. REGSVR32 softpub.dll
b. REGSVR32 wintrust.dll
c. REGSVR32 initpki.dll
d. REGSVR32 Rsaenh.dll
e. REGSVR32 Mssip32.dll
f. REGSVR32 Cryptdlg.dll
g. REGSVR32 Dssenh.dll
h. REGSVR32 Gpkcsp.dll
i. REGSVR32 Slbcsp.dll
j. REGSVR32 Sccbase.dll
 
4. Remove all Microsoft related entries from the “Untrusted Publishers” list.
4.a. Open Internet Explorer.
4.b. Click on the Tools menu followed by Internet Options
4.c. Go to Content tab
4.d. Choose Certificates
4.e. Go to Untrusted Publishers tab
4.f. Delete all the entries in Untrusted Publishers that have Microsoft Corporation under the “Issued to” list.
 
5. Adjust your Microsoft Internet Explorer security settings:
a. Start Internet Explorer.
b. On the Tools menu, click Internet Options, and then click the Advanced tab.
c. In the Security section, check the following values:
Clear the Check for server certificate revocation check box.
Use SSL 2.0
Use SSL 3.0
6. Verify the date and time settings on your computer:
6.a. Click Start, click Run and type in “CONTROL timedate.cpl” (without quotes) and hit ENTER
6.b. Verify that the date and time settings are set correctly.
 
7. Clear the entry in the Hosts file:
a. Click Start, click Run and type %windir%\system32\drivers\etc
b. In the Microsoft Windows Explorer folder window that opens, look for the Hosts file.
c. Right-click the Hosts file, click Open with, and then click Notepad.
d. Delete any entries that relate to the passport.com domain, such as Loginnet.passport.com, LoginMSNIA.passport.com, or Login.passport.com, passport.net
e. Save and then close the Hosts file.
 
8. Clear the DNS cache:
a. Click Start, click Run, type cmd , and then click OK.
b. At the command prompt, type ipconfig /flushdns , and then press ENTER. This command flushes all the DNS entries that have been cached.
 
9. Restart the computer and try to sign into Messenger again.
 
10. If you are running a firewall, and if the computer is running third-party (non-Microsoft) software or firewall software, such as ZoneAlarm, Norton Internet Security, or McAfee, make sure that the software is set to let MSN Messenger operate, and then try to sign in to MSN Messenger again. Visit the following Web site for information about the most common firewalls:
http://messenger.msn.com/help/issues.aspx
 
11. If this does not resolve the issue follow the steps below:
a. Start Messenger but do not sign in. If you are already signed in, sign out of Messenger.
b. Open Internet Explorer and go to http://clientconfig.passport.net/ppcrlconfig.bin
c. Click on Save in the popup window and save the file to C:\Documents and Settings\[Windows USER]\Application Data\Microsoft\IdentityCRL where [Windows USER] is the login you used to sign into Windows.
d. If you are unable to view the IdentityCRL folder in Windows Explorer, click on the Tools menu followed by
e. Folder Options and the View tab. Ensure “Show hidden files and folders” is selected.
f. After saving the file go back to the same folder and rename the file as ppcrlconfig.dll
g. Click on Sign in and sign into Messenger again.
 
If you are running into this error message when using MSN Messenger v 7.5, try the steps below:
 
1. Start Messenger but do not sign in. If you are already signed in sign out of Messenger.
2. Open Internet Explorer and go to http://clientconfig.passport.net/ppcrlconfig.bin
3. Click on Save in the popup window and save the file to C:\Documents and Settings\[Windows USER]\Application Data\Microsoft\IdentityCRL where [Windows USER] is the login you used to sign into Windows.
4.If you are unable to view the IdentityCRL folder in Windows Explorer, click on the Tools menu followed by Folder Options and the View tab. Ensure “Show hidden files and folders” is selected.
5. After saving the file go back to the same folder and rename the file as ppcrlconfig.dll
6.Sign into Messenger again.
7. If this does not resolve the issue follow the steps below
a.Uninstall the current version of Messenger
i.Click on Start and Run and  type in CONTROL APPWIZ.CPL and hit Enter
ii.Choose Messenger from the list and click on “Remove”
iii.Step through the wizard to uninstall Messenger
b.Clear the temporary Internet Files
i.Start Microsoft Internet Explorer.
ii.On the Tools menu, click Internet Options, and then click the General tab.
iii.Under “Temporary Internet Files”, click on “Delete Files”
iv.Check “Delete Offline content” and click on OK twice.
c.Go to http://messenger.msn.com/download and install the current version of Messenger
d.Restart the computer and then attempt to sign into Messenger.
 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

61 Responses to Messenger Sign-in Error: 80048883

  1. Kamel says:

    I was trying to sign-in with my MSN when i recieved this message error code:8007274c!! PLEASE can someone help??? i\’ve tried all ways to solve this problem with no use

  2. Devion says:

    It works like a charm!
    THANK YOU!
     
    Devion.

  3. tommy says:

    it worked for me tank u very much i really aprecciate it ,because i was trying to get online for weeks.thank alot

  4. adonay says:

    hola buenos dias!!!
    Tengo un gran problema y quieciera saber como se pudiera resolver, se me metio un VIRUS en mi MSN, que esta afectando a todos mis contactos el VIRUS dice.," MIRA MIS FOTOS ". y este correo lo uso para trabajo y esta afectando a todos mis clientes.
     
    me gustaria saber si me podria ayudar muchas gracias.
     
    Adonay Ortega Sanches.
     

  5. astrid xiomara says:

    hola
     

  6. robin says:

    i accidentally checked the box that says forget me,now i cannot sign into messenger at all..anyone no how to recover  this so i can sign in successfully?

  7. Unknown says:

    I am unable to log into WLM after installing a series of Microsoft XP security updates.
     
    It simply says "signing in…" with the two torso\’s continually spinning around undernieth. No error message is received however it does not move past this step.
     
    Any suggestions would be great thanks.

  8. Unknown says:

    I made all what u say but with no result
    NOW
    I have solved this problem
    I checked on remember me and try to sign in wich result in  this error
    then I click on forget me the MSN account work again
    sherif El-Faid (Egypt)
     

  9. apos says:

    go to: Start> Run and type: %windir%\\system32\\drivers\\etcopern the hosts file using Notepad and add the two following lines in the end of the text:65.54.239.80 messenger.hotmail.com65.54.239.80 dp.msnmessenger.akadns.net Save and exit, Problem solvedPeace out

  10. Sardar says:

    http://forum.mess.be/index.php?act=Attach&type=post&id=4820 <<<this is the link im onine let me know if it works….coz it works 100%

  11. Sardar says:

    those who can sign in 8.0 download this 5 kb file and click on edit and it will work enjoy.

  12. hammooood says:

    i have the problem that i cant sign in it gives me error 81000314 and i dont know how to solve it can any body hep me out to solve this problem

  13. Faaitu says:

    I tired to sign in to msn but this thing came up "signing into windows live messenger failed because the service is temporarily unavailable.Error Code:81000314". That is very annoying and i would like to get rid of it permantely because ive tried searching the net for donwloads to fix this problem but it seems to say when i searched on the net that it is either Microsoft Msn Messenger is down or otherwise unavailable..I hope you find a solution to this annoying Error..
    Yours sincerley
    DESPERATE TO GET RID OF THE ERROR CODE 81000314

  14. SE says:

    I am using MSN Live ver 8.0 – The first part of this solution resolves the error 81000314 hat I am recieving, however a permanent fix would be great

  15. Charlotte says:

    I\’m also having the error 81000314. Can anyone help me slove it? I somehow found a solution just now. Although I followed the steps, the problem still remain. Please! I need to know how to fix this problem. Please write to me. Thanks for your help!

  16. Jûlî†ø MC says:

    I also got ERROR CODE 81000314, It wont let me sign in until after 3 hours. IF SOMEBODY KNOWS WHY IS THIS PLEASE WRITE BACK, THANX!

  17. irma says:

     

    i need help!!! I am  not at all happy with the custmer services. I  Can not  sign in to my msn messenger.  when i try to get into my msn is a Error code every time i try.  Please help!!!

  18. niico says:

    arreglen el msn q me voy a morir sin msn x favor lo nesecito para ORITA!!!!no saben cuanto

  19. niico says:

    yo opino q este nuevo msn vale VERGA!!! xq siempre tiene problemas y nunk puedo entrar a mi msn!!

  20. RK958 says:

    Downloaded the new messenger and lost the email incoming sound. Nobody knows how to fix this, I have been on the phone and live chat with them all morning and they keep referring me to someone else. Between MSN referring me to verizon and visa versa, I think I spoke to everyone in the "chain" and it is still not working. Guess AOL is looking better every day!
    Tired of wasting my time with answers like "we don\’t support that" and call Dell etc. Just very poor tech support if you ask me. Don\’t know where to go from here. Dopesn\’t seem to be anyone that knows tha answer here.

  21. Louise says:

    Ahhhhhh…………… Life without MSN is doing my head in!! I can see my phone bill being through the roof!! Uploaded Windows Live Messenger, everything was fine!! Came home after going away for the weekend and when I tried to log in I was told to download a newer version, after many attempts I was told that I had to have Windows XP!! As this is what my comp runs already I was very confused!! Downloaded all the updates I can possibly find and I\’m still having issues!! It keeps coming up with error code 80072efd… tried again today and now I\’m getting error code 8007274c!!! PLEASE can someone help???????? I\’m really disappointed with the new Live package, I thought it was supposed to make life easier not stressfull and expensive!!

  22. Unknown says:

    works!!!!
    thanks !

  23. manoj91-hotmail says:

    yea works great now, got to run ad-aware and spybot.

  24. Nik says:

    And i can still log onto my account from my other computer…

  25. Nik says:

    my msn 7.5 has been working fine for months. now i cant sign in cuz of error 80048883. yesterday it said that there was something wrong with key ports when i troubleshooted. today i troubleshoot it and it says everything is fine, but im still gettin this gay error

  26. al7md llah says:

    heey
    i wanna alot of help i can\’t sign in in windows live messenger(8.0)
     
    and i can\’y download an ather messenger
     
    so help me:S:S
     
    thx

  27. al7md llah says:

    80048820 error

  28. Val says:

    o0h no
    8004888d

  29. Val says:

    o0h no
    8004888d

  30. kayser @ las palmas says:

    I got problems with my msn-messenger (win-messenger works on my system)… login doesnt work since a few days, I get the 80048883
    every time. Only solution that works for me is to exec the install-file
    using the repair-option… but it only work till restart. PLZ HELP

  31. Kammy says:

    rmemba ther is space between "regsvr32" and "softpub.dll"

  32. Kammy says:

    close msn….go to ….START…RUN…(type in "regsvr32 softpub.dll") and click …OK…then start msn…if this works plz tell me g_unit_soulja50@hotmail.com

  33. redz says:

    i found out why it wont work its because sum1 has reported you to the msn team i hav the same error but it will let u sign in after.   one day i was on msn it vanished straight away then wen i tried starting it it sed the error code then wen i switched it off and went to sleep i woke up the next day it started to work lol but then sum1 else reported me so i am writing this now haha i hav nuthing to do im so bored but every thing u hav just read is true sum 1 has reported u for bad language or just for being stupid lol good luk :).

  34. Unknown says:

    i an reali geting pissed cuz meh msn wont let me sign in i\’v done every thin and it still wont even let me sign in on windows and i can\’t live with out msn PLZZZZZZ HEP ME !!!!!!!!! and it because error 81000314 o god help me !!!!!!
     

  35. Unknown says:

    And for error 80004005??

  36. Lee Anne says:

    I have tried everything to sign into my msn messenger, i have even restored my whole xp system, but to no avail. Please,please help me.

  37. Mike says:

    i get really pissed off because i cant sign in beacuse of error 80048821

  38. Unknown says:

    hi eermm deos anybody know a website that u can sign to msn but not from teh icon from internet and i have mac os 0.9 pls help me
    when i try to install msn messenger for mac it never lets me in and just afolder …all i see is a folder how freaking boring
    i cant live wit out msn pls help me:(

  39. Unknown says:

    oh my god i cant get into msn cos its error code 81000314 how weird is that and it wont even let me sign in on the old msn. i have tried everything system restor and takin msn off da computa and then reloding it sum please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  40. char says:

    can u give me the last msn i had 4 i dwnloaded 7.5

  41. Unknown says:

    a vous se  soir

  42. Wayve says:

    Ever since i upgraded to messenger 7.5 i can sign in again and is really pissing me off cos i can exchange ideas with my course mates

  43. Wayve says:

    Can\’t sign in to My messenger please help me fix this

  44. American says:

    I have the same problem with the GATEWAY as the person listed in this blog. 
     
    I can not get past it no matter how i try.  My MSN 7.0 versonion was working well and I had decised to update. 
     
    Seems to have been a mistake!  NOW, I tried reinstalling MSN 7.0 and the same error message comes back during the install of that version.
     
    I NEED HELP!

  45. JW says:

    No working (BETA)

  46. Andre says:

    80048820 error……..pi$$ed

  47. katie says:

    plz can u fix it plz  n plz tell me how!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  48. katie says:

    plz can u fix it plz  n plz tell me how!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  49. Shona says:

    whats the error 81000314???

  50. Angela says:

    I just started having issues today. I am getting error code 80048821

  51. Unknown says:

    what is up with this error code … It wont let me log onto msn messenger …. how do I fix it so I can use my messenger.. never had this problem with yahoo…
    any suggestions on how to fix it plzzzz my @ is boricuagerrero25@hotmail.com
      thank you if you send any suggestions I really want to use my messenger

  52. Unknown says:

    yea  yo i need to talk to my friend  and talk to my girl  dog put it bac yo this is making me mad  any way put it bac fast ok  1

  53. Tony says:

    I have encounter the error, 8808448 it won\’t allow me to connect sometime, there is nothing wrong with my internet connection and signing in to hotmail was no problem. All the firewall has aloow messnger connection, please could u rectify this problem for me thanks.

  54. Unknown says:

    my friend update his blog and i can\’t view his post. what happened? is it also caused by this error?

  55. Unknown says:

    what is up with this error code … It wont let me log onto msn messenger …. how do I fix it so I can use my messenger.. never had this problem with yahoo…
    any suggestions on how to fix it please email me @ number_1_mom_67550@hotmail.com
      thank you if you send any suggestions I really want to use my messenger
     
    tina

  56. Laura says:

    With both versions of MSN Messenger 7.5, it wasn\’t sign-in issues I was having … I kept getting signed out automatically all the time, at random intervals ! I\’ve contacted the support services for MSN, and everything they suggested did not help. Please fix this, it\’s really annoying.

  57. djwinter says:

    Ouch, that\’s gotta suck having to pull a version… fix one problem and create another :(

  58. яι¢αя∂σ says:

    don\’t those users have some software instaled in common?? maybe some prog that implicates with the networking connection like a firewall os a AV that scans for worms??

  59. Richard says:

    Bloody hell they reverted back to the previous, oh well….. Also what is up with Music Mix….we are both in the UK and have passport set up for UK but are unable to get it to run….I send an invitation and says my friend is unable to run it? We are both on 7.5

Leave a Reply

