Cannot send IM

Windows Live Messenger closes and asks about sending an error report every time you try to start a conversation with a contact:

 

If Messenger is not responding or prompts to send an error report (Messenger crashing) every time you launch a conversation window with a contact, try the following:

 

1. This may be caused by the Smiley Central toolbar installed on your machine. To disable Messenger integration, follow the steps here

2. To uninstall Smiley Central toolbar follow instructions here.

3. After the uninstallation or removing the integration to Messenger, restart the computer and try signing into Messenger and launchign a conversation window

       

If you have any other issues with your conversation window or sending and recieving instant messages please contact Windows Live Messenger Support and choose Messenger.

 

This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Cannot send IM

  1. Unknown says:

    I have a problem as well, my windows live messenger 8.1 won\’t even come up,
    it just has a pop up that says "Windows live messenger has stopped working"
    I have tried uninstalling it, and then reinstalling it, and yet I still get that same message,
    and it gives me a signature problem report as well and I don\’t have a clue what any of it means.
    I need help please, I have been trying to fix it for about a month now.
    Your help would be greatly appreciated.

  2. julian says:

     no puedo ingresar al msn, por errores en el sistema ojala puedan ayudarme. gracias
    los errores son 80048820-80048412, 8004005

  3. Unknown says:

    error code 80004005    HELP ME PLZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

  4. Unknown says:

    Windows Live Messenger…..shuts down as I am on line with a contact…Red circle with an x in it shuts down just about everything.  I can\’t  download e mails…the pc won\’t do anything  then I get a message "2147954407 get help"     Now this happens every time I\’m on line…I get about an half hour of time before it happens…

  5. surasak says:

    When  I open MSN , the MSN want to close

  6. Courtney says:

    plz help whenever i log on 2 msn it pops up sayin error 80048869 and
    that my gateway appears to be offline. im really sad and iv tried
    looking 4 a solution but can\’t find 1. plz help i cant live without msn
    im addicted plz help im desperate.

  7. Unknown says:

    everytime i want to login it appears a window saying troubleshoot.

  8. honestangel1 says:

    About the send report error smiley central and all. I don\’t have smiley central. I had to delete msn messenger 7.0 because whenever I talk to few friends it crashes with the report error window. I had to install 6.2 back. 6.2 does not have that problem, but I did like 7.0 version though. Btw I have windows 98SE.

  9. Unknown says:

    every time i try to get into messenger it say please try later! so please ca u help me ?

  10. Janessa says:

    mine keeps saying trouble shoot EVERYTIME i log in. I do not know what is wrong with it but it\’s making me very mad. It\’s been doing this for 4 days now. It says something about a firewall or something but i don\’t think it\’s that. So…HELP PLEASE!!

  11. vanda says:

    I keep on getting error number 80048869, saying the service is not available and I may be behind a firewall…

  12. Jessica says:

    messages \’not sent\’ when typed in… have to sign out, re-instal beta so it repairs then sign back in again! such a nuisance

  13. Ellmann says:

    clear the proxy settings in IE..

  14. Joslyn says:

    it wont let me sign into my msn messenger in my name! Help Please!!

  15. Ayet says:

    i can\’t sign into my msn when i try to trouble shoot it says their in a problem with the DNS AND THE kE PORT CAN U HELP ME PLEASE THANkS

  16. Unknown says:

    error 80048820

  17. Unknown says:

    Cannot log on to msn. 
     
    States: proxy/firewall settings may be the problem.
     
    Any ideas?

Leave a Reply

