Windows Live Messenger 8.0.0566 Release Notes

Here are the release notes for Windows Live Messenger 8.0.0566:
 
This document describes the new features and known issues in Windows Live Messenger Beta v8.0.566.
 
New in this version
  • Improved Infrastructure
  • Over the last few months, the Messenger team has worked tirelessly to make Windows Live Messenger Beta more reliable and stable.
 
New Windows Live Look and Feel
  • Windows Live has a new look, and Messenger has been updated to match the rest of the Windows Live offerings. We look forward to your feedback!
 
Removed hover behavior
  • We received a lot of feedback saying that you didn’t like the expansion from one line to three lines when you hovered on a contact in the contact list. We listened! We removed this behavior.
 
Replaced status icons
  • Sometimes change is good. Sometimes it’s not. We tried using the same status icon for contacts that have their status set to Away, Out to Lunch, and Busy. The overwhelming response was “Change it back!” so we did.
 
Updated Sharing Folders
  • Sharing Folders has been overhauled! The sharing window status and progress bar has been updated, plus the activity log is now a separate window. 
 
Known Issues
 
Accessibility
  • The Sharing Activity Log window is not keyboard-accessible
  • Very little support for high contrast mode throughout the Beta
     
Contacts
  • EASI passport Messenger users don’t receive an error message when adding a federated contact as an instant messaging contact.
  • The main window doesn’t update after editing a contact.
     
Conversation Window
  • Conversation Window Colors are not remembered on upgrade
  • First Ink message sent to a contact might fail. Additional Ink messages are delivered.
  • Double-byte characters (DBCS) do not appear correctly in conversations with three or more participants when the DBCS input mode is selected in language bar. Workaround: click the Messenger contact list (or any other window) and then click the conversation window.
  • If you are running Internet Explorer 7.0, the conversation Message History might not open correctly. If you encounter this issue, in Tools > Options > Messages > Message History, change the path to the files to one that does not contain a space.
     
Installation
  • Upgrading from previous build prompts for reboot when a reboot is not required.
  • Messenger Beta cannot be installed on Windows 2000 Server
  • Before installing on Windows Vista, you must uninstall previous versions of Messenger. Upgrading from previous versions of Messenger is not supported and can result in unexpected behavior, such as Messenger repairing itself when first opened.
     
Mobile Messaging
 
  • Users may not be able to send SMS in some markets.
  • An incoming SMS is displayed on a new window instead of the existing Mobile IM window and the mobile contact that sent the message is not recognized as contact.
  • SMS appears to come from a contact other than the one that sent it. An SMS might also appear to come from the correct contact’s mobile number, but the contact’s name is not displayed with the mobile number.
  • When sending a message to a contact with no Vodaphone subscription or one that has run out of credit, an incorrect error message is displayed. The error message is “This message was not sent. To send messages to a mobile device, you must first set your country of residence for your Microsoft Passport and sign back into Messenger.”
  • When a Vodafone user is added by WVID, the Messenger user will not see the Vodafone user’s presence. In addition, the Vodafone user will not get the notification that he was added by a Messenger user. 
  • When a Messenger user tries to migrate a Vodafone number added using pre 7.5 Messenger client the migration will fail
     
Parental Controls
  • Parental controls are not supported in Messenger Beta, so restricted accounts cannot log in.
     
Sharing Folders
  • Sharing is not supported on unsigned versions of Messenger, such as if a third-party Messenger add-in is installed.
  • Long delays in replication may result when attempting to sync with multiple active sharing relationships.
  • Can’t delete, open, or edit files when filenames are too long. This most commonly occurs in the <%SystemRoot%>\Documents and Settings\<username>\Local Settings\Application Data\Microsoft\Messenger\<email address>\Contacts directory. To take action on the file, rename it.
  • When sharing files with a user running Windows Live Messenger Beta v8.0.365, the Sharing Folders window incorrectly displays a warning that states “<username> has a version of Messenger that doesn’t have Sharing Folders, so you can’t share files with <username>.” Sharing Folders does work between v8.0.365 and 8.0.566.
  • Messenger might crash if you right-click several folders in the main Sharing Folders window and click Properties.
     
Windows Vista Support
  • Before installing on Windows Vista, you must uninstall previous versions of Messenger. Upgrading from previous versions of Messenger is not supported and can result in unexpected behavior, such as Messenger repairing itself when first opened.
  • Windows Vista does not support Voice Conversations (Computer Call).
  • Sharing silently fails if Messenger was installed using non-administrator account on Windows Vista.
  • On Windows Vista, the Sharing windows do not always work as expected. For example, gleams do not appear on new items in the Sharing Folder and clicking Delete on the right-click menu does not delete the file from the Sharing window.
  • On Windows Vista, Messenger might crash if you open the Games or Activities menus in the Conversation window.
  • When running the Connection Troubleshooter, a DNS error is reported even when there is no DNS error.
     
Other Issues
  • Personal settings, such as the display picture, are no longer selected after installing 8.0.566.
  • Windows Live Messenger Beta might crash if MSN Shell (a 3rd party plug-in) is installed.
  • PC to Phone calling is not available in all markets.
  • In some markets, while entering a password to sign in to Windows Live Messenger Beta, the cursor focus reverts to the username field.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Windows Live Messenger 8.0.0566 Release Notes

  1. Tawatchai says:

    hi….

  2. Hiral says:

    my windows live messenger keeps on switching chat windows when i chatting to like two people. how can this be fixed

  3. Stacey says:

    my msn live keeps freezing when i get on it and its doesnt respond ihave to kepp signing in  again n agian n agian its shit….  i have re downloaded it numerous times how can i fix this?????

  4. Paul says:

    How can i open MSN Explorer with and not have it sign me into windows live messenger.  impossible to make it not sign in the way its configured. There is an option to cancel sign in, but really doesnt work.  would be nice to appear offline when messenger opens.  Now everytime on open MSN all my contacts can see im online before i can swich modes.  very inconvenient.

  5. luis says:

    luis responde y habre tu mensaje
     

  6. زاهر says:

    HI
     

  7. زاهر says:

    HI
     

  8. زاهر says:

    HI
     

  9. Rick says:

    I have a very slow connection 128kps, how do I configure windows live messenger for the slow speed? I have followed the instructions but the button they talk about is not there.

  10. Kitty says:

    I need help, really bad! I\’m having so many problems with this program. This happens every time…. I\’ll type my conversation and the minute i press enter the whole thing close\’s on me and i have to sign in again, plus my mess never gets to the recipent. As well as, when i try to add a new contact, it tells me that i have the wrong address, and i checked and re checked and it\’s not ever the wrong addy it just wont let me do it, and before anyone asks, yes, i have uninstalled and reinstalled numerous times and nothing is working for me. I would be really grateful if someone would e-mail me and give me a solution to my problem. Cheers Aphro

  11. Unknown says:

    Szeretnék valakivel.chatelni

  12. Tee says:

    This is to thanyathon011 you can get Msn 7.5(Which an old verson) by going to —— http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=ca6b2c02-7c1c-4e3a-8d2b-4fcef7485c14&displaylang=en or if you wnat to be up to date and have windows live..(which is just like msn but better) then you can download it from here……. http://imagine-msn.com/messenger/launch/en-GB/ thats should help you.. after you have downloaded it it will direct you on how to set it up.. and then you will have it installed on your computer
     
    Hope this helps

  13. Annie Thanyakorn says:

    How can I set up msn in my computer ????? and also how can l get msn ???please help me………..
     
    Thank you in advance.

  14. rebecca says:

    this stupid msn pisses me off so much most times wen i try to log on it dosent let me can somebody please sort it out for me or that to hard for you

  15. Unknown says:

    I WAS ON MSN MESSENGER 7.5  THEN I DOWNLOADED THE NEW WINDOWS LIVE MESSENGER 8.0 BUT WHEN I RIGHR CLICK ON A CONTACT IT DOSE NOT OPEN .IT GOES IN MY TASKBAR THEN I HAVE TO CLICK THE GROSS TO TURN IT OFF THEN IT COMES UP ON MY DESKTOP THEN I CAN TALK TO MY CONTACT WHEN I DOWNLOED IT IT DINT PUT THE MSVCR80 DLL FILE IN NEED HELP
                                                                                                                                              WEND

  16. Edward says:

    Last night Windows Live Messenger stopped working (no window or taskbar icon) on one of our desktops, now this morning the other desktop has the same issue, and at least 1 of 2 laptops are doing the same thing. Your last pushed update was crap….undo it and try again another day please….

  17. Cruise Planners - Eileen says:

    I downloaded the update and now I can\’t sign in.  It sez "You cannot use Windows Live Messenger at this time because your contact list is not available.  Please try again later.  Error Code: 81000378"  What\’s the deal?  This has been all day and I still can\’t log in.  Anyone else out there have this prob and get it fixed???

  18. Harsimran says:

    i keep getting signed out from windows live messenger after a few minutes. i can\’t have proper conversations with friends online.its either my instant messages don\’t reach them or vice versa.i have tried uninstalling the program and later reinstall it but there is no difference.hope something can be done about it because its really becoming a nuisance and getting on my nerves

  19. Robyn says:

    When I sign into Windows Live messenger, I click on 1 of my contacts and it comes up sayin \’You are unable to start a conversation with …… please try later\’ and I try later and still wont work… any suggestions? x

  20. Lim says:

    I can\’t see all the icon, when i get latest installer from I\’M tab.
    People send to me i can\’t see, i send to my friends also cannot see.
    I only can see the text represent icon
    Eg: (W), instead of icon.
    Any solution?
    INSTALL_MSN_MESSENGER_DL.EXE
    Uninstall and reinstall pevious version . the Icon also can\’t displayed
     
    Please help
     

  21. gary says:

    have Vista —messenger worked fine then all of a sudden after 2 months I cant type or talk my 2camera mikes are not working —–they do on xp however —   help
     

  22. dejan says:

    fuck the new msn it keeps freezing and saying its not responding, you fucking tit stains fix this, it wont even open for like 2 mins once i click it. stop fucking updating wen the updates do so little and then fuck up, fucking monkeys running msn

  23. BRANDEE says:

    I am also disappointed at the fact that when u use to sign into your mesngr, you could actually see ur contacts display pic in your contact box, and now you cant unless u check out their display card…. i hate it… I use to rave about this msngr… now i am just starting to become more and more annoyed with it.

  24. BRANDEE says:

    Everytime I sign in.. the main window comes up for a sec, then I get the lil "email" notification…and all of a sudden… its just up and diasappears…go to the lil msn guy in the taskbar and poof he goes to… what the hell is goin on? This is ridiculously frustrating…Mine was working fine last week as well, I haven\’t done anything different or adding anything…Dunno why this would happen so suddenly..and everytime I try signing on… It never fails… I am sick of trying to sign on. What a pain in the ass…

  25. mahender says:

    FUCKING VISTA, FUCK UP EVERTHING, MY LIVE MESSENGER, MY ITUNE, MY SOUND CARD, MY VERIZION ON LINE, MORE THEN HALF OF MY SOFT WARE DOES NOT WORK ON VISTA. CAN NOT GO IN MY COMPUTER. COMPLAINT FUCKED UP SYSTEMS
     

  26. Unknown says:

    porque inicio la pajina y se me borra al enviar informes se supone que me lo van a solucionar al enviar el informe,si es un informe de error en la coneccion no es por el adsl esta conectado permanente.
    espero que se solucione este problema no puedo chatear con nadie, estar en contacto con mis amigos.

  27. Unknown says:

    porque inicio la pajina y se me borra al enviar informes se supone que me lo van a solucionar al enviar el informe,si es un informe de error en la coneccion no es por el adsl esta conectado permanente.
    espero que se solucione este problema no puedo chatear con nadie, estar en contacto con mis amigos.

  28. Unknown says:

    porque inicio la pajina y se me borra al enviar informes se supone que me lo van a solucionar al enviar el informe,si es un informe de error en la coneccion no es por el adsl esta conectado permanente.
    espero que se solucione este problema no puedo chatear con nadie, estar en contacto con mis amigos.

  29. gemma says:

    Have just downloaded msn messenger again as I\’ve had to have a new hard drive on my computer.  Everything seems to be ok except for the display pictures of my contacts – they won\’t show.  Have selected the box in options – general and show display pictures from others but hasn\’t made a difference.  Any ideas anyone
     

  30. Jia says:

    i just upgraded the LATEST version of msn as prompted. was using windows live messenger 8.0 before this. now, the contact names on the main window are REALLY SMALL, and their display pictures are REALLY small too. anyone who knows of how to solve it please contact me

  31. Zala says:

    My msn messanger keeps on signing me out, this has been happening for quite some time now and when I do sign in it shows me offline, it doesn\’t let my status be online. It was wrking perfectly well last week. Can someone help me plzzzz?

  32. Faith says:

    Ok, how come when I talk to someone the only font color is black and is in arial or times new roman.  When I\’m typing it shows me in the color and font I have chosen but any message I send or receive is in black… its annoying and makes the window seem boring

  33. jennifer says:

    Why say that the new messenger supports vista when nothing works?? Also, why is a windows messenging program NOT compatible with WINDOWS vista? That doesn\’t make any sense. If anything should be compatible it should be these two. Now I can\’t communicate with my family. I used to use the voice convo every day since I am military and overseas. Now I can\’t even do that.
     
    When will you be fixing this?!?!?! FIX IT SOON!!! I want to see AND hear my family again!!!

  34. collett says:

    i up graded 2 live messenger 8.  i can sign in but i cant talk 2 any1.. wen they talk 2 me or me talk 2 then it sez unable 2 start convo u may wana try again.. any1 kno wat 2 do?? email me TA

  35. Alesja says:

    u menja bila versija MSNbeta8.1,a teper* ee netu!Menja ona ustraivala,a teper*, neznaju kakiju mne zaka4at:wtobi bila horowoja,da ewe i na russkom jazike!!!Posovetuite esli mozete i znaete!

  36. พลอย says:

    สวยมากๆ

  37. Unknown says:

    since \’upgrading\’ (laughs) my live messenger yesterday to the newest version, every time i boot it up, i always get signed in for like, one second, if i\’m lucky, then it simply says, program not responding, and thats it…game over! i have googled this issue, but no advice on offer works at all, and despite various attempts to reinstall it, the same thing happens – if there\’s anybody out there who has experienced and overcome this problem, PLEASE contact me!! A beer or five will gladly be donated to anyone who can solve this!!! Regards, Danny.

  38. Unknown says:

    hey ppl. i just downloaded the new version and cant get my ass in. it keep say trouble shoot error 80072efd. If any1 who knows how to fix this plz email me at nhatboy@hotmail.com . Thx a lot

  39. rachael says:

    ive just downloaded the new version of windows live and now i can\’t sighn in can any one help please!!!! the old windows messenger is depressing (so dull) lol. rach xx

  40. rachael says:

    ive just downloaded the new version of windows live and now i can\’t sighn in can any one help please!!!! the old windows messenger is depressing (so dull) lol. rach xx

  41. Aser says:

    Because you loved me For all those times you stood by me For all the truth that you made me see For all the joy you brought to my life For all the wrong that you made right For every dream you made come true For all the love I found in you I\’ll be forever thankful baby You\’re the one who held me up Never let me fall You\’re the one who saw me through through it all You were my strength when I was weak You were my voice when I couldn\’t speak You were my eyes when I couldn\’t see You saw the best there was in me Lifted me up when I couldn\’t reach You gave me faith \’cause you believed I\’m everything I am Because you loved me You gave me wings and made me fly You touched my hand I could touch the sky I lost my faith, you gave it back to me You said no star was out of reach You stood by me and I stood tall I had your love I had it all I\’m grateful for each day you gave me Maybe I don\’t know that much But I know this much is true I was blessed because I was loved by you You were my strength when I was weak You were my voice when I couldn\’t speak You were my eyes when I couldn\’t see You saw the best there was in me Lifted me up when I couldn\’t reach You gave me faith \’cause you believed I\’m everything I am Because you loved me You were always there for me The tender wind that carried me A light in the dark shining your love into my life You\’ve been my inspiration Through the lies you were the truth My world is a better place because of you You were my strength when I was weak You were my voice when I couldn\’t speak You were my eyes when I couldn\’t see You saw the best there was in me Lifted me up when I couldn\’t reach You gave me faith \’cause you believed I\’m everything I am Because you loved me You were my strength when I was weak You were my voice when I couldn\’t speak You were my eyes when I couldn\’t see You saw the best there was in me Lifted me up when I couldn\’t reach You gave me faith \’cause you believed I\’m everything I am Because you loved me I\’m everything I am Because you loved me

  42. Serendipity Goddess says:

    In the previous version of Messenger, my contacts\’ display pictures displayed as large images beside their names in the contacts list. Now, all I see are tiny Messenger men beside each contact\’s name. I tried modifying the show contact\’s display pictures settings in Options but no luck. Any solutions? E-mail me at "srndpty.gddss at comcast . net"  

  43. Samantha says:

    a couple of days ago i installed the Windows Live Messenger and it was great…but then a couple days ago i tried to sign in a the window automatically closed as soon as i pressed sign in. it was still open on my task toolbar and when i went to click on it, it disapears. i signed into windows messenger and it said i was NOT connected to .NET Messenger Service…and then it gave me an option to RETRY, so i did and it signed me in…so i again tried to sign into my Windows Live Messenger and it still closed then disapeared. I allowed my firewalls to have Windoes Live Messenger 8 as an exception…and its still not working. i reinstalled it and it still didnt work and it gave me an option to Repair it when i reinstalled it again. So when i repaired it and restarted my computer it still kept closing as soon as i press sign in. so i opend the sign in window (didnt sign in) went to tools, properties, under the connection tab, and it said i was not connected to .NET services but i am connected to the internet with a wired connection…then it closed. i had to open it a bunch of times inorder to read the sentence because it kept closing on me. wheni clicked on Service Status it said that i was connected to .NET Messenger Service…then y wont it let me sign in… i went through all of my security settings, deleted all the extra files and cookies…and my internet is running faster but my messenger still isnt working. I changed my password and everything that somesites have suggested…but nothing is working.  Do you have any idea what i could do to fix it?

  44. Samantha says:

    a couple of days ago i installed the Windows Live Messenger and it was great…but then a couple days ago i tried to sign in a the window automatically closed as soon as i pressed sign in. it was still open on my task toolbar and when i went to click on it, it disapears. i signed into windows messenger and it said i was NOT connected to .NET Messenger Service…and then it gave me an option to RETRY, so i did and it signed me in…so i again tried to sign into my Windows Live Messenger and it still closed then disapeared. I allowed my firewalls to have Windoes Live Messenger 8 as an exception…and its still not working. i reinstalled it and it still didnt work and it gave me an option to Repair it when i reinstalled it again. So when i repaired it and restarted my computer it still kept closing as soon as i press sign in. so i opend the sign in window (didnt sign in) went to tools, properties, under the connection tab, and it said i was not connected to .NET services but i am connected to the internet with a wired connection…then it closed. i had to open it a bunch of times inorder to read the sentence because it kept closing on me. wheni clicked on Service Status it said that i was connected to .NET Messenger Service…then y wont it let me sign in… i went through all of my security settings, deleted all the extra files and cookies…and my internet is running faster but my messenger still isnt working. I changed my password and everything that somesites have suggested…but nothing is working.  Do you have any idea what i could do to fix it?

  45. Samantha says:

    a couple of days ago i installed the Windows Live Messenger and it was great…but then a couple days ago i tried to sign in a the window automatically closed as soon as i pressed sign in. it was still open on my task toolbar and when i went to click on it, it disapears. i signed into windows messenger and it said i was NOT connected to .NET Messenger Service…and then it gave me an option to RETRY, so i did and it signed me in…so i again tried to sign into my Windows Live Messenger and it still closed then disapeared. I allowed my firewalls to have Windoes Live Messenger 8 as an exception…and its still not working. i reinstalled it and it still didnt work and it gave me an option to Repair it when i reinstalled it again. So when i repaired it and restarted my computer it still kept closing as soon as i press sign in. so i opend the sign in window (didnt sign in) went to tools, properties, under the connection tab, and it said i was not connected to .NET services but i am connected to the internet with a wired connection…then it closed. i had to open it a bunch of times inorder to read the sentence because it kept closing on me. wheni clicked on Service Status it said that i was connected to .NET Messenger Service…then y wont it let me sign in… i went through all of my security settings, deleted all the extra files and cookies…and my internet is running faster but my messenger still isnt working. I changed my password and everything that somesites have suggested…but nothing is working.  Do you have any idea what i could do to fix it?

  46. Samantha says:

    a couple of days ago i installed the Windows Live Messenger and it was great…but then a couple days ago i tried to sign in a the window automatically closed as soon as i pressed sign in. it was still open on my task toolbar and when i went to click on it, it disapears. i signed into windows messenger and it said i was NOT connected to .NET Messenger Service…and then it gave me an option to RETRY, so i did and it signed me in…so i again tried to sign into my Windows Live Messenger and it still closed then disapeared. I allowed my firewalls to have Windoes Live Messenger 8 as an exception…and its still not working. i reinstalled it and it still didnt work and it gave me an option to Repair it when i reinstalled it again. So when i repaired it and restarted my computer it still kept closing as soon as i press sign in. so i opend the sign in window (didnt sign in) went to tools, properties, under the connection tab, and it said i was not connected to .NET services but i am connected to the internet with a wired connection…then it closed. i had to open it a bunch of times inorder to read the sentence because it kept closing on me. wheni clicked on Service Status it said that i was connected to .NET Messenger Service…then y wont it let me sign in… i went through all of my security settings, deleted all the extra files and cookies…and my internet is running faster but my messenger still isnt working. I changed my password and everything that somesites have suggested…but nothing is working.  Do you have any idea what i could do to fix it?

  47. Samantha says:

    a couple of days ago i installed the Windows Live Messenger and it was great…but then a couple days ago i tried to sign in a the window automatically closed as soon as i pressed sign in. it was still open on my task toolbar and when i went to click on it, it disapears. i signed into windows messenger and it said i was NOT connected to .NET Messenger Service…and then it gave me an option to RETRY, so i did and it signed me in…so i again tried to sign into my Windows Live Messenger and it still closed then disapeared. I allowed my firewalls to have Windoes Live Messenger 8 as an exception…and its still not working. i reinstalled it and it still didnt work and it gave me an option to Repair it when i reinstalled it again. So when i repaired it and restarted my computer it still kept closing as soon as i press sign in. so i opend the sign in window (didnt sign in) went to tools, properties, under the connection tab, and it said i was not connected to .NET services but i am connected to the internet with a wired connection…then it closed. i had to open it a bunch of times inorder to read the sentence because it kept closing on me. wheni clicked on Service Status it said that i was connected to .NET Messenger Service…then y wont it let me sign in… i went through all of my security settings, deleted all the extra files and cookies…and my internet is running faster but my messenger still isnt working. I changed my password and everything that somesites have suggested…but nothing is working.  Do you have any idea what i could do to fix it?

  48. Sean says:

    i have the same problem as posted below… im working on it but if in the mean time anyone finds a fix, please post it.. otherwise ill get back to you when i sort it

  49. Missfishywishy says:

    Ok after reading through this page it seems im not the only one who is getting annoyed with msn! Ok i have been using messenger for the past few days no problem at all then i logged out today for like 30mins then logged back in and it seems to think theres no internet connection! now it was saying this as i was checking my myspace page! so i was obviously online, now my firewall allows it to work and so it shud ive sent a message to the "support" team but shock! i have not yet heard a reply, could anyone help me on this?

  50. Natalie says:

    Hi, I am having difficulties signing into Windows Live Messenger.  It continously keeps telling me it has encountered a problem and now I cant sign in at all.  This is becoming a problem adn I would like help please.  Thanks Natalie

  51. BRANDI says:

    how do I get around my firewall?  I can\’t access Messenger Live since last week?
     

  52. Matthew says:

    A problem I seem to be having that I can\’t find any other reference on is that when a large incoming message is received while I\’m chatting on Windows Live Messenger (a lot of text in one message, to be precise), my computer freezes for upwards of thirty seconds to a minute. Anyone have ideas why this happens?

  53. Unknown says:

    Windows Live Messanger keeps telling me it as encountered a problem and needs to close.  I send the error report but this is getting really annoying.  It will do this anywhere from 1 to 5 times during an 8 hour work day.  Need help.

  54. Rita says:

    What does Host File Error in Troubleshooting mean?  how do i fix it?

  55. Dimitri says:

    I\’m getting the same problem as DeRoQuE where I can\’t add new contacts.
     
    Any help?

  56. Unknown says:

    games function doesn\’t work on Version 8, i\’ve downloaded the active X control, i have restarted my computer, i have updated my macromedia flash player, my girlfriends messenger is working why won\’t mine!!?? I want to play a game with my girlfriend online!

  57. Jodi says:

    my windows live messenger just suddenly stopped working a week ago, it wont allow me to sign, someone please help!

  58. Nepheline says:

    I am experiencing the same issue as Koshechka where I can sign into account "X" but when I exit and try to log in with account "Y", Messenger just sits there "signing in" for ages (I left it there for 15 minutes before giving up and closing!).
     
    No error codes or crashes .. has anyone got any ideas or know others who are reporting this?  A friend contacted me yesterday to report this same incident too …

  59. Javier says:

    Ok half the time i cant log in with my main account. When i can i cant add any new contacts says they arent on my allow list. So i add them. Then a link to add to my contact list appears.. I click link nothing.. so i click it again… nothing. Great i cant add any new contacts. This is a great upgrade.. /uninstall. Oh wait no i cant cause you wont let me use a differnt version now. WTF is going on microsoft. Are you trying to get is all to quit using MSN and switch to the compition?

  60. Unknown says:

    Well if their planning on using it with Vista they had better get their butts in gear.  Parental Controls arent supported with the new release, and you would think they would have had this figured out already!!!!!!
     
    No Plannning

  61. Michael says:

    Live Messenger always freezes up a few seconds after I load it.  I always have to end task on it.  I have XP SP2 with all updates and IE7.  I\’ve tried uninstalling/reinstalling the latest version with the same results.

  62. Ken says:

    Hi…I have a big question…MSN live messenger gives me this message "Your computer does not support sharing folder….." and it\’s frustrating! I am sure alot of ppl have similar problems?  Please email me the solution to kenetic2003@hotmail.com thanks!
     

  63. Melissa says:

    I have been trying to access my account ALL day, and for some reason I can access account "B", but not account "A\’ which is the one I commonly use! My sister can log in to her Messenger account too!
    I can access my account\’s "A" e-mail account through my browser, but not log in to Live Messenger… I\’m REALLY disappointed of this service… Instead of improvement, it has only brought frustration!

  64. Jocelyn says:

    Yes I agree latley windows live messenger is becomming more of a nusence then a conveinece, i have regularely kept my messenger up to date and from the moment i got live msg i had problems i have had to dowload seperate dsl files, and delete my cache files all to send a few msgs, i feel that yes its really cool to have these new features but at the same time its becomming annoying when you really dont know when you will be able to sign in without some sort of error code popping up, such as now and now i cant even get it to pop up the error code to fix the problem. Yeh and another thing the trogan.exe that came through to many people was crazy i got it too opened it by accident on my crappy pc, it was easily fixable if you have a good firewall to help stop it and system restore although some people i know dont even have a c drive now. Which leads to my over all opinion i think that the creators of the software is great its just the program istelf is becomming unreliable, and i hope that soon a competator comes out with something better and more reliable maybe then they will take more time and care into there prgramming, the sign in problems is becomming insane theres almost no point in having an IM if you cant sign in, there should eithor be some type of new patch system to fix these errors or an newer version the same but without so many problems, or else many people will soon be starting to look for newer more reliable IM services. oh yeh and i downloaded the new live to see if it actually would fix my problem… yeh that doesnt work eithor.

  65. mi says:

    Not 2 sure about msn these days seems to be lots of issues. Just the other day I got a link from my mate which said something on the lines see a pic of you and surely enough after trusting this person for such a long time didnt realise it was a link trogan. exe of some sort. Once you click on the link it automatically grabs your msn contact and forwards the link to your friends,as you sign in bingo you have same msg without you knowning this, how rude…reformat is not fun.
    Oh the other problem I just got a few mins ago was trying to accept a video chat with my mate and next min you know it rebooted my machine and gave me a msg once it was rebooted ( you seem to be having serious issues with explorer) this happend twice in a row… has anyone had these happen to them?…maybe its time to move on from msn and find something more stable and reliable.

  66. mi says:

    Not 2 sure about msn these days seems to be lots of issues. Just the other day I got a link from my mate which said something on the lines see a pic of you and surely enough after trusting this person for such a long time didnt realise it was a link trogan. exe of some sort. Once you click on the link it automatically grabs your msn contact and forwards the link to your friends,as you sign in bingo you have same msg without you knowning this, how rude…reformat is not fun.
    Oh the other problem I just got a few mins ago was trying to accept a video chat with my mate and next min you know it rebooted my machine and gave me a msg once it was rebooted ( you seem to be having serious issues with explorer) this happend twice in a row… has anyone had these happen to them?…maybe its time to move on from msn and find something more stable and reliable.

  67. D says:

    kk i got msn live messenger and its pretty much gotten gay on me… dunno if i\’m allowed to use words like that but its kinda annoying lol… I get a troubleshooot error thing
    the error code is : 81000306even though i\’m connected to the internet it still doesnt sign me in…. i pressed the troubleshoot button annnd everything seems to be working fine… does anyone know whats up???

  68. Leanne says:

    Hiyah Mah Msn Live Messenger Isnt Wurkin :( Mah addie (Leanne-Jaii-x@hotmail.co.uk ) Ahn Iht Keeps Cumin Up Error :@ 8004005 :@ But Ave Dun Everyhing Tae Help Iht :@

  69. Haroon says:

    Hey guys!
    Just a quick question, I am trying to use MSN live messenger 8.0 and i cannot log into it.  When I troubleshoot, it gets stuck at \’DNS\’.  What can I do to alleviate the problem?  Also, I am using a wireless internet connection and the rest of the net works fine!  Help! Thnx

  70. sweet says:

    error code 80048820,  for extended error code 80048412 please any one tel whot to do o log to internet but not in msn messenger  thank you

  71. sweet says:

    error 80048412  please any one for information ?

  72. andrew says:

     y am i getting message error 81000314

  73. Carolynn says:

    please help! 3 days outta 5 when my pc has started up, i get, windows live messenger has encountered a problem and needs to close, i have sent error report, then tryed to repair windows live messenger – i get an error saying – the procedure entry point ?csaddfile@@ygjipb_woik@z could not be located in the dynamic link library. please can someone email me at crazyweecheerleader@hotmail.co.uk if you have any ideas? thanks x x

  74. Unknown says:

    hei gleder meg til kamp idag

  75. Unknown says:

    Mac compatibility?????? When

  76. Cristian says:

    i got a diff problem its says something about cant find internet explorer http://tp.msn.com/en-us/default,aspx?ver=8.0.0812&did=1. and what it does is not letting me check my e-mail or my friends my spaces or my myspace. pretty much the commands that links to the internet web pages. Plz help.

  77. Stefano says:

    how come I cannot search anymore for contacts based on name or country!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    With the previous versions was possible and now what???????????????

  78. Luke says:

    http://get.live.com/messenger/overview << download latest messanger and it will cure the 80084005 error

  79. Luke says:

    80084005 <<< (seems to be the same problem as 80004005) anyhelp regarding this error code. the account does not sign in on the pc, but on others pcs it will. it seems to be the account that doesnt work on pc? any help please email to Sharman14@tiscali.co.uk Thanks

  80. Ash says:

    i\’m also having a problem with my font/font color. I change the settings, and although it shows the changes when i\’m typing a message, once i hit send the font goes back to the default settings. The same happens when someone sends me a message. If anyone has any suggestions please email me. star_ashes@hotmail.com. Thanks in advance!

  81. emmanuel says:

    I try to install messenger beta but it comes up with error code 1603 and it say no changes were made to my computer try again later plzzzzzzzzzz help me…!

  82. Lynnie says:

    hey when i try to install messenger beta it comes up with error 1603… and it says try again later…. i have tried so many times… please help?

  83. Unknown says:

    i keep having error code 8004005 it will sign into my brothers msn but not mine. when i tried to make another account it came up with another error code. please help!

  84. Ciara says:

    ive been getting the the error code 80004005 which wont let me sign into my windows live messenger on my main account, but when i tried on my other account it worked, so i tried again on my main account and it said the same thing with the same code- some one please help- whats happening, what can i do to fix it?

  85. Gregg says:

    I keep getting error code: 80048412 does it have somethign to do with my connectivity does any one know?

  86. Andrew says:

    Anybody know what the DNS entry is that point to Live messenger?
     
     

  87. robyne says:

    every1 do wat tht nikkisha says it works,, make sure the folders arent hidden

  88. robyne says:

    i cant get on to my msn without trouble shoot coming up with error code 8004005 coming up and then my frind told me togo into loads of stuff and then where you fix it (the folder named contacts) there is noting in there

  89. Mark says:

    I keep getting the error code 80004005, so it won\’t let me sign in. It has been like this for about a week now, and it\’s really annoying me, I\’ve done all the things that your \’Help\’ section told me to do to try and fix it but it doesn\’t work. I need help, like I said, I haven\’t been able to get on Windows Live messenger for over a week now.

  90. jade says:

    80040005 i got the same code wont sign me or anyone into msn onli on window messenger, please can someone help asap xx

  91. Ricardo says:

    Bug does not instal th new version error 1603!
     
    Any help?

  92. j says:

    in messenger live 8 i change font and cant see it on message screen but its there when i type it. and others who type to me in say lime color i dont see anything but plain black default font and color. but others can see my changes just not me and i cant see theirs what do i need to do??? pleas e  help me…  email me at joycewbailey@hotmail.com

  93. Danish says:

    what the fuck is this my msn is not signing in …. there is an error and the code  i have sent previously

  94. Danish says:

    i have an signing in error. and that is
    Error code: 80048820
    Extended error code:80048412

  95. Lynzixx4 says:

    code 80004005 wat do i do??

  96. chris says:

    someone please help me everytime i try and download the live messenger i get a pop-up that says the file is corrupted and its pissing me off i cant get the damn program some one help e-mail me or something

  97. Sr says:

    error 8004005 is killing me,,,,no way i ca fix it ,,only my account is not working my other fridns can sign in here with my pc ,,its just odd !!plzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz some one help me,,,i guess the last version was better and less haedache,,,,
     

Leave a Reply

