Configuring MSN Messenger through the PC-Cillian Firewall

1. From the system tray, near the system clock, double click on the PC-Cillian Internet Security Icon to open the Main Console window.
 
2. Click on Network Security followed by Personal Firewall to open the Personal Firewall settings window.
 

 
3. PC-cillin Internet Security allows you to change the firewall settings for each type of profile. Choose a profile in the Manage profiles box, and then click on the Edit buttonfrom the profile list. PC-cillin allows you to change the firewall settings for each type of profile.
Note: While checking for firewall settingsMake sure that  it is good to verify if Messenger is enabled through each profile. It is also advised that you In addition, Trend Micro also select advices keeping the Automatically switch to the appropriate profile option checked so that PC-cillin Internet Security will automatically choose the correct profile is chosen depending on the type of Internet connection you are using that is being used.  Note:  PC-cillian allows to change the firewall settings for each type of profile.
 
 

 
4. Click on the Exceptions tab and check if MSN Messenger is on the Exception List. If MSN Messenger is already on the list, but you are not sure if it is for the version of Messenger that you are currently using, remove all the entries for MSN Messenger first by following the instructions in step 5. If there are no entries for MSN Messenger on the Exception List, go to step 6
 
5. Choose each entry for MSN Messenger on the Exception List, and then click Remove.
 
6. To create a new connection for MSN Messenger, follow the steps below.
6.a. Click on Add from the Exceptions list.
 

  

6.b. Create an Outgoing exception for MSN Messenger by entering the following values in the Add/Edit Personal Firewall Exception box  as below:
  • Description=MSN Messenger (Send)
  • Connection=Outgoing
  • Action=Allow
  • Protocol=TCP/UDP
  • Ports=All Ports
  • IP Setting – Type=All IP Addresses 

 

6.c. Click on Browse and select C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MSNMSGR.exe and click on Open.
Note: Messenger is usually located in this path.

 

 

6.d. Click on OK to create the MSN Messenger Outgoing rule. 

 
6.e. Create an Incoming exception for MSN Messenger by clicking on the Add button in the Exception List again. Enter the following values for the Incoming exception:

  • Description=MSN Messenger (Recieve)
  • Connection=Incoming
  • Action=Allow
  • Protocol=TCP/UDP
  • Ports=All Ports
  • IP Setting – Type=All IP Addresses 

6.f. Click on Browse and select C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\MSNMSGR.exe and click on Open.
Note: Messenger is usally located in this path.

 

 

6.g. Click on OK to create the MSN Messenger Incoming rule. 
6.h. Once both Incoming and Outgoing rules have been created for MSN Messenger , it  should look like this: 

 

7. If you need to modify any settings for MSN Messenger, select one of the MSN Messenger entries from the Exceptions list and choose Edit.
7.a. Follow steps from 6.b – 6.h to change settings for MSN Messenger. 

 

For more information and support, refer to the Trend Micro Support web site.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to Configuring MSN Messenger through the PC-Cillian Firewall

  1. Unknown says:

    Hey how ya all doing

  2. fuat antonio says:

    i had that viris sent to me as well but my msn been playin for a wile befor i got the viris all is good now i hope is there a hacker thats got our msn and login us out

  3. fuat antonio says:

    think my prob is fixt i do have trend micro 2007 and the fire wall was blockin it lets see how i go now

  4. black----ahmadcool.spaces. says:

    hi

  5. a l B aaa says:

    no puedo iniciar mi cuenta de windows live le doi a iniciar sesion y tengo un error y luego todo me aparece en ingles y ya no se solucionarlo necesito ayuda gracias
     

  6. Unknown says:

    Kisiera ver si me pueden ayudar, no \’puedo iniciar secion con mi kuenta de windows live, me parece un rekuadro el ke me indika algo de enviar  informe de errores, es raro xq solo puedo ver mis korreos y puedo incisiar secion con otras cuentas diferentes a las mia o con la mia en una version deferente de messenger, por favor necesito ayuda y se las agradesere :(   

  7. Siaka says:

    I change my computer but I can be connected to the internet.They say that my e-mail address is wrong I don\’t know why.
    Could you help me with that problem please.
    Thanks.
    Issac

  8. Tash says:

    I can sign into MSN, but when I try to start a conversation…I get a message saying " We were unable to start a conversation with…..  Please try again later.
     
    Is this a temp problem…why is this happening?

  9. Unknown says:

    Hello.
    My msn pops up automatically when I don\’t want it to, once I turn the computer on.
    I really want it to stop, it just wont do that. Can you give me any advice on how to
    fix this problem?
    Please email me @ lovelight1994@hotmail.com.
    Thank you, please help me! This problem annoys everyone in my family.

  10. melissa says:

    Windows libe  Messenger  no  ha  podido  iniciar  sesión  porque  el ID.  De
    Windows libe ID  escrito  no  existe  o  no  es  correcto

  11. Ibrahim says:

    hi
     

  12. Celina says:

    não consigo entrar no meu endereço e ver meus email, já tentei redefinir email, mas nada, não lembro a senha e nem a resposta secreta de forma nenhuma. Não entendo ingles, por favor mande resposta em português. Obrigada.

  13. Unknown says:

    I have just downloaded 8.1 and I sent an sms saying PTE5 to 84994 at a cost of £2 and get a message saying OK now send an sms with the word PTE5 to get your code. I HAVE ALREADY DONE THAT – am I going to be charged another £2?

  14. vermeulen says:

    hey, i have a small and also URGENT question, monday i was chatting with a friend of mine and he suddenly send a link, well i trust the friend and i clicked on the link, downloaded the file and suddenly i realized it was a virus, i now know this wasnt my friends fault because the virus starts sending itself ( the link ) to all ur online contacts and now my problem is, this was some sort of unknown messenger tool and i just deleted ma windows live messenger and reinstalled from the msn startpage, at first it seemed all good and well, but now the problem has returned, i reinstalled ma windows live again and changed ma e-mailadress ( havent had it on this e-mail though ) so  i am hoping if it works, but if anyone has any sort of knowledge about how to delete this "virus" then plz send it to my e-mail adress nmb_pv@hotmail.com
     
    i wont take reformat ur pc as an answer
     
    with best regards me

  15. naz says:

    plz add me
     

  16. Francisco Jose says:

    Hola ,  me gustaria saber como puedo configurar la cuenta del msn en outlouk para leer mi correo desde alli.
     
    Un saludo
     

  17. Lance says:

    Is it possible to print from Window Messenger (I can print AOL\’s IM)

  18. Jorge says:

    Error 81000314, 81000377 o 81000378: tu lista de contactos no está disponible
    Mensajes de error de Windows Live Messenger

    Preguntas más frecuentes
    Tabla de contenido

    AtrásAdelante
    Help CommunityImprimir
    ya hice todo lo que me indica el menu para arreglar este problema y no se solucuciona
    desearia que me lo pudieran solucionar diciendome que hago muhcas gracias

  19. krille says:

    it doesnt work becuase it is error 80072

  20. spideewoman1 says:

    Messenger keeps saying I need to confirm my e-mail.
    I\’ve done that several times.
    I am also unable to add anyone to my messenger lists

  21. بلال الصالح says:

    Hey …
     
    i have big problem with msn live messenger
    first I will put important  info. to Know 
    i have toshiba laptop  "satellite"
    windows Xp Home edition "original " 
    norton 2005 antivirus
    IE 7 beta 2 <<<<"i think its the prolem"
     
     
    when i start conversation   all my pc freezed  and i got  blue screen " i cant read what wrote in it "
     what can i read is fatal error 00c,………
    and restart   :S
    what i do :
    i uninstall the msn and re install it 
    update my system 
    close norton  "shut it off"
     
     
    and i still have the same problem
     
     
    please help me….
     
      now im using yahoo  to talk to my friend in msn :(

  22. Unknown says:

    hi cj i heared your password gon you forget it

  23. Dean says:

    i can sign in but then my mail doesnt come through and i get a message saying error signing in try again but it does nothing but come back with the same message, how can i ensure im getting my e mails

  24. David says:

    After using MSN Messenger for a moment, while chatting, my keyboard switches from English characters to French characters.  Is this a Mesenger issue?  Help I can\’t use question marks or apostrophes.

  25. Unknown says:

    SEVGİ  VE  SAYGI  HERZAMAN  KUTSALDIR

  26. .\.*****...Alex...*****./. says:

    i have the same probelm as Morgan7211. I keep getting this stupid error code 80072efd and all my firewalls are allowing msn to work. so i dont know whats wrong. please help. anyone ..and i am begging you !! xxxx

  27. Unknown says:

    Would anyone please tell me how to configure MSN Messenger through the PC-Cillian Firewall? Messenger support space show the 2006 version, however I have the 2007 version so I\’m not sure. If anyone knows please let me know by emailing me or just comment here please.

  28. Unknown says:

    esto es uan mierda !!!! no sirve pa na no te ponen todas las preguntas iros todos a la mierda un ratito solo kiero ayuda pork tengo 1 problema con el msn y la mmireda de ayuda q me dais tengo q hablar con mi novio 1 por vstra culpa no puedo darme mas ayuda pok no entiendo pork va internet y el en el msn dice k necesito conexio responderme o sino os pongo 1 denuncia ya!"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  29. Unknown says:

    HELP!!! I have just installed Windows live messenger and it keeps coming up "contact list not available" error code 81000378…i have tried various times to close and sign back in but it doesn\’t work..PLEASE HELP ME!

  30. Unknown says:

    I can see my contact however I can not hear properly the connection is horrible it keeps breaking up

  31. Chris says:

    Does anyone know how to repair the 8100014 fault on messenger 8.0? Help much appreciated!

  32. kellsea says:

    i just need to know how to download photos to my msn space
     

  33. Anna says:

    I am having this same problem when i try to sign in i get error 80048820. I have tried EVERYTHING that is suggested and I cant find anything wrong. It lets me use webmessenger though.. but theres nothing wrong with my firewall… it doesn\’t even work when I turn off the firewall compeletly… WHAT DO I DO I HATE WEBMESSENGER

  34. sarah says:

    help me i cnt sign into windows live messenger and it keeps coming up with troubleshoot 80072745 how can i sort this?

  35. Unknown says:

    does anyone know anything about error:80048820? extended" 80048412? ive ran the malicious content removing tool as suggested in the trouble shooter….and i also removed the old 7.5 version from my computer and installed the newest live version and it still will not allow me to sign in….but i can sign in to my email just fine? can you email me anyone who may know anything about this? thank you soooo much!

  36. Noor El Din says:

    My Windows live Messenger is not working and it give me troubleshoot error message and when i repair it nothing new happens the same error it was no like that before plz help me ASAP
    THE CODES ARE :80048820
                              80048439

  37. Husnain says:

    i\’ve got a real different problem , i can chat using live messenger but unable to do voice conversation due to some firewall at the main server (net provider) , dont know which firewall is that, so plz. can any one help me , plz. reply to my mail address

  38. Husnain says:

    i got a real different problem , i can chat using live messenger but unable to do voice conversation due to some firewall at the main server (net provider) , dont know which firewall is that, so plz. can any one help me , plz. reply to my mail address

  39. Husnain says:

    i got a real different problem , i can chat using live messenger but unable to do voice conversation due to some firewall at the main server (net provider) , dont know which firewall is that, so plz. can any one help me , plz. reply to my mail address

  40. Husnain says:

    i got a real different problem , i can chat using live messenger but unable to do voice conversation due to some firewall at the main server (net provider) , dont know which firewall is that, so plz. can any one help me , plz. reply to my mail address

  41. Husnain says:

    i got a real different problem , i can chat using live messenger but unable to do voice conversation due to some firewall at the main server (net provider) , dont know which firewall is that, so plz. can any one help me , plz. reply to my mail address

  42. Blen says:

    I use wirless network to connect to the internet. Everything works fine including my yahoo messenger but windows live messenger only worked couple of times. I tried the older version of it if it connects and that one work. I tried almost everything suggested to fix the problem but nothing seems to help. The error code I got was error 81000306. please help. thank you

  43. Morgan says:

    okay i keep getting error code 80072efd and it says that my firewall settings need to be fixed, i have PC-cillin and i used the directions on how to change the firewall settings and it still doesnt work, any suggestions?

  44. sara says:

    how come i can\’t add new people to my msn?

  45. Jesse says:

    If you are experiencing sign in problems after the October 2006 windows updates there are a couple methods I used to fix this.Version – Windows Live Messenger 8.0 build 8.0.0.812.00Problem – Messenger attempts to sign in and after a long period of time finally returns an error.BEFORE MAKING ANY CHANGES TO THE REGISTRY YOU MUST EXIT MESSENGER, DONT TRY THIS IF YOU DON\’T KNOW WHAT YOUR DOINGMethod 1 – The easy method, but you lose any settings you changed from default within messenger.-Open regedit-Navigate to hkey_current_user\\software\\microsoft\\msnmessenger-Right click msnmessenger and delete-Sign in and enjoyMethod 2 – The hard method which saves any options you  have changed-Open regedit and go to hkey_current_user\\software\\microsoft\\msnmessenger
    -Right click msnmessenger and hit export, save it to your desktop
    -Delete msnmessenger from the registry, keep regedit open
    -Sign into msn live and sign out
    -Go to regedit and hit F5, you should have msnmessenger in the registry now
    -Right click msnmessenger and export it to desktop, different filename
    -Delete msnmessenger from the registry again
    -Open both those registry files in notepad
    -Copy from second file to first appsettings, cachedpolicy0, and machineguid
    -Delete server, avenable, and antivirus (You may not have all of these keys)
    -Save your changes to the first file then double click to update the registry
    -Sign in and enjoy

  46. Andrew says:

    Attempting to log into Windows Live Messenger brings up the following error code:80048820, extended error code: 80048412.
    All attempts at re-installation and firewall manipulation have failed, yet it still advises me to check my firewall settings…firewall is fine, and settings haven\’t changed since date of purchase, when Messenger worked fine.

  47. Andrew says:

    attempting

  48. Unknown says:

    my firewall no open

Leave a Reply

