Configuring Windows Live Messenger through the Zone Alarm firewall

1. From the system tray, near the system clock, right click on the ZoneAlarm Pro icon, and choose Restore ZoneAlarm Pro Control Center.
 
 
 
 
2. In the ZoneAlarm Pro Control Center window, click on Programs. Note: If you have ZoneAlarm Security Suite installed, the short-cut menu and options may be different. Choose the most appropriate menu option to launch ZoneAlarm Program Control console. 
 
 
3. In the Programs tab, you will see the list of applications that are allowed access to the Internet, and their access permissions.
If Messenger appears more than once in the Programs list, one or more of the entries may be for earlier versions of Messenger that were previously installed on your computer. In this case, please proceed to step 4.
If Messenger is not listed, proceed to Step 5.
If Messenger only appears once on  the Programs list, proceed to Step 6
 
 
4. Remove earlier versions of Messenger from the list by following the steps below: 
4.a. Select each of the entries for Messenger and take note of the Messenger version in the Entry Detail box.
4.b. If the version does not match with the version that you are currently using, right click on Messenger and choose Remove
 
 
 
5. To add Windows Live Messenger through the ZoneAlarm Pro firewall, click on Add below the Programs list.
 
 
5.a. If you are using Windows Live Messenger 8.0 or 8.1 , browse for Windows Live Messenger by going to C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger.  If you are using Windows Live Messenger 8.5 and later, browse for Windows Live Messenger by going to C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger
5.b. Select msnmsgr.exe and click Open.  
 
 
5.c. Select the newly created  Messenger entry in the Programs list. 
5.d. Click on the Trust Level icon for Messenger, and choose Trusted.
 
 
5.e. Click on each of the question marks under the Access column for Messenger, and choose Allow. Do the same for the question marks under the Server column.
 
 
5.f. When full access is given to Messenger the entries will look like is:
 
 
6. To modify the access permitted to Messenger: 
6.a. Select Messenger from the Programs list. 
6.b. Click on the Trust Level icon for Messenger, and choose Trusted.  
6.c. Click on each of the icons under the Access column for Messenger, and choose Allow. Do the same for the icons under the Server column.
For more information on Zone Alarm Pro or Zone Alarm Internet Security please go here.

 
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

84 Responses to Configuring Windows Live Messenger through the Zone Alarm firewall

  1. Unknown says:

    hi  every 1 call me on 01246 260703 if u wann shag
     

  2. DAVE says:

    hey babeyd ..u have tha same prob i got but with there *contact list not ready* error… u also have the same version zone alarm..the best thing u can do is uninstall the one u got then download version 8.0.0812.00 stable version (google search it ) not tha beta..it works for me Live spaces

  3. Attila says:

    Ok, I had the same kind of problem after installing zone alarm. In fact I couldn`t sign in to Yahoo or MSN messenger either. So I had a look at the log file in zone alarm, and I saw that there was a process that was getting blocked every time I wanted to sign in to MSN or Yahoo. And this process is:
     
    – LSA executable and server dll (export version).
     
    What happens is that zone alarm asked me beforehand whether I would allow this program to use other programs to access the internet, and I had no idea what it was so I denied it. And that`s what the problem is.
     
    So what you need to do is go to program control within Zone alarm, right-click on the above entry (LSA executable and server dll (export version), click `options`, and check the top two entries:
     
    – this program may use other program to access the internet
    – allow application interaction
     
    You may need to reinstall your messenger as well.
     
    I can`t tell if this will work for everyone, but it certainly did for me. Good luck!

  4. paul says:

    PLEASE Help how do I repair Error 8004888d, it stops me from signing in to menssenger live

  5. clément says:

    msn moi ca ne marche ne pas

  6. Fitness Lover says:

    I\’m also facing the same problem, but the strange situation is that I was using ZA 6.5.737.000 with no problem with windows live messenger 8.1. After I installed ZA 7, it conflicted with another program then I installed the previous ZA 6.5.737.000 again. Then I noticed the current problem.

  7. katie says:

    i am having the same problem and have tried all the suggested things to fix it.nothing has worked.please can somebody help.it been happening for ages now.

  8. ZOE says:

    i am having the same problems….and the bove info hasnt fixed it!?

  9. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  10. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  11. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  12. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  13. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  14. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  15. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  16. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  17. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  18. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  19. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  20. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  21. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  22. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  23. danielle says:

    hello people!!
    please can someone send me easy to follow instructions on how to be able to log on to windows live messenger please.
     
    I now have zone alarm security suite installed since my computer had some viruses and over a thousand unwanted entries on my computer.
     
    Ive had zone alarm installed for a day now and ever since its been installed i can\’t sign into windows live messenger it comes up saying, ERROR 81000306 i have windows live messenger version 8.1 and zone alarm security suite version 6.5.737.000.
     
    I have followed all the steps above and still haven\’t fixed this problem.
    its really beginning to be a bother and i really need to fix it as soon as possible.
    im not sure if its just a problem with windows live messenger because i can still sign into yahoo perfectly fine
    please someone help me.
     
    thanks from a very comfused messenger user.

  24. ₪XßζÃZЭЯ§₪™ says:

    ppl its a well known bug for ZA since ever 7.0 was ever been made …at last they admit they have bug now ZA is taking thier time to fix it…hope they well…soon coz its getting on my nerve

  25. Mutlu says:

    hi, i use zone alarm security suite v7.0.337.000 and live messenger v 8.xxx.xxx and i had same problems lke not stayying logged when i tried to send msj, not seeing display picture vs. i tried everything with za but i couldnt solve the problem.then today i updated my live messenger plus plugin and every problem solved suprisingly. and also i use my za suite IM security offmaybe ur problem can be the same so if u use this messenger plus addon please update it! (by the way sorry for my english)

  26. Jason says:

    Tried all the steps at the tops and it still doesn\’t work.  I shut down ZA Security Suite and Live Messenger works fine.

  27. Keyser says:

    I have ZA 6.5.722.000 and it worked fine until I\’ve upgraded WLMessenger to 8.0.812.000, so I don\’t think there is a problem with ZA, because with WLMessenger 7.5 there was no problems on staying logged on do MSN.

  28. Eileen says:

    This is really a ZA problem. I have ZA Suite (and an "always on" connection) and everything worked fine until a few days ago when ZA had a program upgrade. Now it\’s at version 7.0.337 and Live Messenger does NOT stayed signed in. This is VERY BAD!

  29. Richard says:

    Hi i have ZA and i think it\’s messing up my WLM. I tried and followed the steps above, but i still have problems inputting a subtitle or personal message part of my name. It doesnt show what i have written, it shows my name just not the persoanl message that goes along with it. Neither does it show the music im listening too when the option is checked.
     
    Can anyone help me out, i feel like ive tried everything. thanks.
     
    Email me at richvill3@hotmail.com

  30. Branko says:

    Worked for me;D Finnaly

  31. Sophia says:

    i followed these steps to no avail..please help!

  32. Stu says:

    Follow these instructions above – I had msn in the allow list anyway, but it solved my problem. Plus turn off IM security if you have it, it doesn\’t like that either

  33. Robbie says:

    Messenger keeps logging off…sometimes i can\’t see people\’s pictures!Whenever I send a message to a member on my list, it automatically disconnects my msn!It\’s soooo annoying!!! :x

  34. Esad says:

    Since few days ago I cannot use msn messenger nor msn live messenger. It worked before with Zone alarm Pro, but stopped working without any changes to my PC

  35. Unknown says:

    PLEASEE PEOPLE HELP ME!!!
     
    I\’ve got the lastest version of msn live and it keeps on sighing me out all the time and it doesn\’t allow me to see anyones display pictures and it doesn\’t even show my dp to anyone as well and i can\’t even have a video convo…auido convo or send or recieve anything at all and i have Zone Alarm suite….PLEASE HELP AND IF SOMEONE KNOWS THE ANSWER TO MY PROBLEM PLEASEEEEE SEND ME AND EMAIL TO    the_unknown_diesel_man@hotmail.com   THANKS
     
    -SAM

  36. Unknown says:

    PLEASEE PEOPLE HELP ME!!!
     
    I\’ve got the lastest version of msn live and it keeps on sighing me out all the time and it doesn\’t allow me to see anyones display pictures and it doesn\’t even show my dp to anyone as well and i can\’t even have a video convo…auido convo or send or recieve anything at all and i have Zone Alarm suite….PLEASE HELP AND IF SOMEONE KNOWS THE ANSWER TO MY PROBLEM PLEASEEEEE SEND ME AND EMAIL TO    the_unknown_diesel_man@hotmail.com   THANKS
     
    -SAM

  37. Jermaine says:

    My WLM signs me out by itself but my account doesn\’t do so at other people\’s houses it may be something to do with my WLM but I have reinstalled it 10 times!!! some 1 plz help me
     

  38. Zuriki says:

    I have Zone Alarm Security Suite and I get error code 8100030d I have tried turning off Zone Alarm but this doesn\’t help i\’m using WLM-8.1 I had the same problem with WLM-8.0 and MSNM-7.5 but that somehow corrected itself ater a month of leaving it alone. But the WLM has been about a 3 months I can alternatly use Trillian to sign in but I don\’t like it. I can sign in on my account with different computers and other accounts can sign in on mine. Anyone who thinks this is odd say ITHINKTHISISODD and if anyone has an answear TELL ME QUICK!

  39. Unknown says:

    i have followed all the steps here an still cannot sign in..wen using the version 7.5 i still cant see anyones pictures or send or receive files..can anyone help..this is doing my nut in!! haha x

  40. Dani says:

    IM security -> Settings: set everitying to allow and try out both of yes and no for Encrypt. The encription is a very important thing for ZoneAlarm (don\’t ask why). I have set the ports for Live Messenger. So it works well for me (at this moment…)

  41. Pablo says:

    I\’ve change "inbound active" to "allow" and now I can see pictures. ZASS 7.0.302.

  42. Luis says:

    I have the same problem (can\’t see contacts pics, can\’t send/receive voice messages, etc) and messenger logout and login very often!I use Zone Alarm Security Suite with Instant Messaging Security and in ID Lock where I have my email address.I don\’t remember when, but time ago I clicked on a contact\’s pic and ZA ask to me if I want to send my email address to an xxx.xxx.xxx.xxIP, and when I click "Alow", in messenger window appears the contact pic that I clicked before…There must to be a solution for this probelm! Can someone else find it?

  43. Unknown says:

    Unknown.Why is it that when using live messenger with my ZA firewall up, I am not able to view my contacts display pictures or connect to their webcams. Even with the full access given to Windows Live.. I find it odd that I\’m having such difficulty with Windows Messenger. I can\’t even play games or have voice conversations when I have my ZA up. Once ZA is closed, I have full control and full access to all the features of Windows Live.

  44. PONGSAK says:

    thank you very much/..
    I finally can log in to MSN…and everything is fine now!
     
     

  45. says:

    After ZA auto patched itself today… it works (hope it stays that way)
     

  46. Justin says:

    Obviously this is ZA\’s problem and if you go to their site, there\’s not much support on this issue, only user forum where people trade stupid and usless tips.  Following the steps will allow you to log in to MSN live, but major fuctions like emoticons, display pics, and camera is adversly affected.  This kind of renders MSN live uselesss as I use it as a important business tool to commnunicate with my associates and customers.
     
    The way I solve this stupid situation is to uninstall v6.5xxx and reinstalled my v3.xxx back.  Can I get my money back?  ZA?
     
    I\’ve been using ZA since 2000 and recently upgarded to v6.5xxx.  What a major disappointment.  Please do not ignore the MSN Live problem!  ZA PLEASE FIX THE PROBLEM!

  47. jonathan says:

    hi im havin trouble with signing in its saying i have erooor code number 80048820 but i only have the normal zonealert but it is not pro i hav changed evry think to let it use msn but still wont let me sign in and evry time i try it tells me that \’the security certificate has expired or is not yet valid\’ it has only just done this but is very :S can u help me please e ail it plz becase im nt fully shoure how to use this site thank you the advice will  be very use full to me as im so bored with out msn atm thank you agen my email is moomin3@hotmail.co.uk

  48. Ahmed says:

    hloooooooooooooooz……………………..plz help me ……..plz ………….i*ve unenstall alll firwals rogram and still have erooor code number 80048820,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,plz answeeeeeerrrrrrrrr,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,i*ve got to hellll

  49. Maggie says:

    http://www.msghelp.net/showthread.php?tid=67323&pid=744031#pid744031
    This works right away for me! now i can log onto Window Live Messenger 8.1 finally!!~
     
    I followed every single steps the support person told me and it still didn\’t worked…. -_-a

  50. Unknown says:

    http://www.msghelp.net/showthread.php?tid=67323&pid=744031#pid744031Zone Alarm was already configured correctly but this worked for me ^^^ straight away (delete the registry folder). You lose the settings and go back to defaults, but, there\’s no uninstalling or messing around just straight back to the chatting.

  51. LeeBoy says:

    Any news on a fix to this recent MSN sign in problem?

  52. Aimee says:

    how do i change form messenger 8.0 to messenger 7.5.0324

  53. Matt says:

    yeh ummm ive done all that… but it just has reached the point where it will not even sign in! let alone give me access to the webcam, mic, display pictures, view the PM or song, send files… so the only thing i CAN do is talk to people through text… unless i shut down ZA…

  54. Vaughn says:

    This worked fine with Zone Alarm for a couple of weeks…..no problems at all. Now it won\’t connect just goes throught the connecting process without any resolution. Help anyone?

  55. Dick says:

    ive downloaded msn messsenger 7.5.0324 and it works i think u guys should dump msn 8.0 coz it seems to be bug in at the moment   just till they get it fix

  56. Hean Kim says:

    hey peepz~ i cant log in to WLM too~ it juz shows its connecting~ ><" but when i try other accounts on my comp it works! except for my account and it doesnt work on my fren\’s account for WLM! as for the firewall i\’m using Zone Alarm but i dun think thats the problem for my case~ and i had 8100030d as my error b4~ if anyone could help that would be great thanks

  57. Wayne says:

    Sorry, this is usually the first thing one tries.  This is definitely a Zone Alarm issue though, from what I\’ve seen.  Either that, or MS and Zone Labs aren\’t communicating with regards to services that Windows Live Messenger may require.  It will run fine if I shut down Zone Alarm, then start Windows Live Messenger, then restart Zone Alarm.
     

  58. Angel says:

    OK so we all know its Zone alarm messing things up, but it used to work before and now everything is fuc.ked up. I think the problem is the msn live file that allows for login, this is what needs permission through ZA, but where to find the file is the question…
     
    Something more tangible would be appreciated

  59. Tom says:

    I followed the instructions above plus what was entered on 10/7 at 8:47 am and it worked once.  I went out, restarted WLM and it didn\’t work.  Please help.

  60. Kamlesh says:

    Matt Chan`s Zone Alarm temp fix solved all my problems :):):)  

    Thanks Matt, your a STAR!!!

  61. A says:

    Hello Everyone
     
    Procedure to get windows live messenger working with Zone Alarm
     
    Windows Live Messenger Version 8.0.0812.00
     
    ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite 6.5.737.000
     
     
    1 > Follow all the steps (1 – 6c) as listed above.
     
    2 >  Look at the pic under step 4b. Observe that in the column listed as SmartDefense the default setting for Messenger is Auto.
     
    3 > Change that to Custom.
     
    4 > Restart Messenger.
     
    Wollah Messenger works without any problems with ZoneAlarm.
     
     
    Hope this helps.
     
    If this procedure doesn\’t work for anyone than please let me know, so that I may be able to help you further.

  62. A says:

    Hello Everyone
     
    Procedure to get windows live messenger working with Zone Alarm
     
    Windows Live Messenger Version 8.0.0812.00
     
    ZoneAlarm Internet Security Suite 6.5.737.000
     
     
    1 > Follow all the steps (1 – 6c) as listed above.
     
    2 >  Look at the pic under step 4b. Observe that in the column listed as SmartDefense the deafult setting for Messenger is Auto.
     
    3 > Change that to Custom.
     
    4 > Restart Messenger.
     
    Wollah Messenger works without any problems with ZoneAlarm.
     
     
    Hope this helps.
     
     

  63. Charles says:

    ive got the same issue : error code 81000306 – WLM cannot sign in with zone alarm running – program is allowed full access to all cookies, connections and everythng – i even ticked the box to allow it to send mail but no. Ironically Windows Messenger 4.7 connects fine! Its just pants using 4.7 and turning zone alarm on and off is just a painful thing to have to do! – someone find a fix and email me….please!!!

  64. My says:

    I have contacted windows live support team and acted upon all the actions. There is something wrong with ZoneAlarm, I can sign in to WLM when I close ZoneAlarm but it just wont work with it on. Hopefully ZoneAlarm will solve this problem soon. The error I get is 81000306.

  65. Unknown says:

    I have allowed messenger through the firewall, have done everything that Microsoft have suggested inculding running all the following dll files:
    – regsvr32 softpub.dll – regsvr32 wintrust.dll – regsvr32 initpki.dll – regsvr32 rsaenh.dll – regsvr32 mssip32.dll – regsvr32 cryptdlg.dll – regsvr32 dssenh.dll – regsvr32 gpkcsp.dll – regsvr32 slbcsp.dll – regsvr32 sccbase.dll
    The only way I can login to windows live messenger while running Zone Alarm, is to dissable it first !!! however XP\’s windows messenger loggs in fine with Zone Alarm active….
    frustrted as hell, any other suggestions anyone ?

  66. Stephen P Brajovic says:

    I have tried everything that Msn offers on errors….even deleted and uninstalled every little thing that had messenger attached to…AND I KEEP GETTING ERROR 81000306…anyone got any ideas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  

  67. chris says:

    hey can any one help me????? i keep getin up 80048820 when tryin to get in ti msn messanger plz help.

  68. eli says:

    to get red off the 8100030d error you will need this http://www.msgshit.com/download/598
     
    guaranteed to work
    oh you will need to start the msn allways with this file to avoid this error
    have fun

  69. Karen says:

    80004005(i have windows live messenger and have found this to work when unable to get on msn) try: start,search, type in Windows Live contacts and search when it finds the file open it and find the addy u having problems with, click on that and remove the folders Real and Shadow then try to connect with msn.

  70. M a r i e says:

    mmm that didn\’t work.
    but thank you  Guru Gyan, I did the same as you and that solved the prob (turning off firewall, sign in, firewall back on).
    :D

  71. Karen says:

    I\’ve been getting those annoying 8100030d messages but others have been able to log on and that got me even more annoyed. after trying everything i simply turned off my firewall (zonealarm security suite, logged on then turned it back on again. that actually worked. dunno if it will work 4 u.

  72. Ben says:

    Still Cant Get It To Work error code = 8100030d please help

  73. Dan says:

    um getting 80004005 as my error code. its got something to do with the Live Call stuff. and that Zone Labs guide above did nothing for me.

  74. Matt says:

    This will allow you to connect to the Messenger network, but Display Pictures, Custom Emoticons, Personal Messages, and Screen Name changes will still not work. It\’s Zone Alarms Problem! I\’ve discovered a temp fix, see here:http://www.messenger.mattchan.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=13&Itemid=2Hope that helps all those until Zonelabs come up with an official fix!Matt.

  75. Unknown says:

    hi guys ……………im havin problems sighning in on ntrouble shoot my wireless is disconected wat do i do???

  76. Marc says:

    I have a few problems that I think are due to zone alarm (they don\’t occur when I shutdown zonealarm). First of all, I can\’t see anyone\’s display picture. I can only see the display pics of those people who use msn 7.5. Also, I can\’t receive custom emoticons from anyone who uses the latest version of msn messenger. Does anyone know how to fix this? Thanks.

  77. kessler-- says:

    This rocks! My msn has been down for ages and now it finally works! Thanks a bunch!

  78. kessler-- says:

    This rocks! My msn has been down for ages and now it finally works! Thanks a bunch!

  79. Ryan says:

    I just tried to sign on to Msn, I kept getting the 80048820 error kept poping-up. I did troubleshoot but, it didn\’t work. What can I do to try to fix this problem.

  80. Matt says:

    hi there,
    Ive got the latest version of messenger…
    Everything was working fine with version 7.5, until it suddenly starting signing me out, and then back in, but eventually it wouldnt sign me back in…
    I then updated the MSN but same problem. The code im getting is 80072745
    Please please if anyone can help Id love them for life!
     
    Thank you

  81. Ian says:

    Hi guys … I am having the same probs that you are with error 8004005 it is so annoying when it appears after doing th blog lol.  Have you had any replies or other bits of info to resolve the prob? Please leave a message I need help lolThanks.

  82. Shaffaaf says:

    hi. i have messenger live version 8.0.0792.00i have dine everthing possible for it to work, and i ahve zone alarms, and have followed the bolg for it, but it still gives me the message 80004005. what can i do to fix this. i dont mind going back to 7.5 but i cannot se anyones d/p in that, and no one can see my emoticons. what can i do for that?

  83. josh says:

    i have a temporary solution, just uninstall windows live messenger and use msn 7.5 untill they pull their fingers out and fix the problem, im hosting the installer, if you guys (microsoft/msn) wouldnt like me to do so just send me an e-mail at afenda@bigpond.net.au and ill gladly take it down… it will only be on here for a short while as a temporary fix.
     
    http://www.freewebs.com/uozha/MSN_Messenger.exe

Leave a Reply

