Configuring Windows Live Messenger through the Windows XP firewall

1. Launch the Windows Firewall. 
1.a. Click on START and RUN to open the RUN Window.
 
 
1.b. In the RUN window type in CONTROL FIREWALL.CPL and hit Enter to open the Windows Firewall settings window.
 
 
2. Click on the Exceptions tab to view the list of programs that have been added to Windows Firewall,
3. Remove all Windows Live Messenger or msnmsgr entries from the Windows Firewall Programs and Services list. Note: this is to ensure that the latest version that you are currently running is the one registered with Windows Firewall. To remove earlier versions, select each entry for Windows Live Messenger or msnmsgr and click the Delete button.
 
  
4. Add Messenger through Windows Firewall.
4.a. Click on Add Program below the Programs and Services list.
 
 
4.b. Select Windows Live Messenger on the Programs list of the Add a Program window, and then click on OK.
4.c If you cannot find Windows Live Messenger, click on Browse. If you are using Windows Live Messenger 8.0 or 8.1 , locate the Windows Live Messenger executable file by going to C:\Program Files\MSN Messenger\ and if you are using Windows Live Messenger 8.5 and later goto C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger. Choose msnmsgr.exe. Messenger will now appear in the Add a Program window. Click on OK to close the window.
 
 
 
 
4.d. After adding Windows Live Messenger to the Programs and Services list, it should look like this:
 
 
 
Click here to get more information on Windows Firewall.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Configuring Windows Live Messenger through the Windows XP firewall

  1. laureen says:

    if any1 needs help wiv windows live [key ports] go on 2 google and type in key ports connection 4 windows live messenger and have a look there on 1 of the searches there is error codes 4 different things sooooo if any1 is havin trouble wiv anything else just type it in and go on the 1 wiv error codes it is brill!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 

  2. laureen says:

    i cant get on 2 windows live messenger because of key ports connection if any1 knows how 2 help plz write back ASAP      lookin 4ward 2 hearing from u x       bi every1

  3. fizzah says:

    how do i delete my windows live space????????? hurry please lol

  4. PRINCESS says:

    haaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay ………
     
               i m here ……………………………. lolo000000 

  5. Katherine says:

    I don\’t know what the error is.  BUT my MSN Messenger freezes so that when I pull up my control panel it is NOT RESPONDING.  Very frustrating and can you help?? 

  6. ricky says:

    I can log in but when I try to have a converstion with anyone or someone trys to have converstion with me it says we are unable to start a converstion with my contact try again later

  7. ricky says:

    I can log in but when I try to have a converstion with anyone or someone trys to have converstion with me it says we are unable to start a converstion with my contact try again later

  8. thiago says:

    thankssss a lot!!!!!!

  9. pierrezelast says:

    I can\’t get to share files with a contact.  Says my computer is not enabled…all roads to help on this subject are not working either…
     

  10. Marco Aurélio says:

    Esse Suporte é maravilhoso parabens….

  11. Karen says:

    MSN Messenger Live 8.1, what a pain in the A- – !!!I can log into the web live messenger but not the downloaded interface.  I followed the help screens and put the msnmsgr.exe file, from the folder C:\\Program Files\\MSN Messenger\\ into the Firewall Exceptions and still cannot access it through the downloaded interface. It gives me the error code 80048430.Please help.  This has me baffled and very frustrated.

  12. William says:

    I can sign in just fine, but I cant message my one contact, who lives quite aways away. but it\’s fairly important to talk to her, and every time I message, it kicks back saying "Message Cannot be sent to all recipiants:" sometimes it works but only when she messages me first, which some times… isn\’t the best thing to wait for

  13. steve says:

    i cant get the run option to run control firewall.cpl     i know this is the problem because it says but i cannot edit it because the run option wont run the windows firewall

  14. alex says:

    I got a different kind of problem, it turns to run well but then it goes offline, as soon as i\’m writing something to someone it goes offline, it won\’t last as much as 3mins online, it reallly sucks, i\’m desperate please help!!!!!!!

  15. Creusa Aparecida says:

    oiiiii;

  16. Marianna says:

    help!! my messenger says error 80048416!! Help me please!!

  17. Cristiano says:

    Não consigo entra no msn há dois dias, recebo uma mensagen erro 80072746, alguem pode me ajuidar.
    Cristiano.

  18. Anna says:

    I keep getting this error that im not connected to .NET Messenger service and sometimes can and sometimes cannot log on. It is very annoying. If I check my service status it says I am connected and able to connect to live. I love it and yet I hate it cuz it is a pain in the neck!

  19. Unknown says:

    to di volta

  20. BabyShambles says:

    I\’m getting fed up with this. I try everything not even once can log in.
    I hate this thing. Why is this happening to me.
    Don\’t make me stress.

  21. Jessica says:

    I am having a problem! i keep getting error code 8100041!!! I HAVE TRIED EVERYTHING! this didnt work either! What can i do?

  22. Corrine says:

    I\’m having the same problem. It\’s very irritating. Whenever I try signing on MSN it doesn\’t work- and it totally interrupts my connection as well, I have to go turn my internet off and on again. This only happens with MSN, not with yahoo or AIM, but I need to use the one I can\’t. :P I have all this article says, I tried it before I saw this but it didn\’t work.

  23. Unknown says:

    allo le monde toujour en forme bravo

  24. victor says:

    tengo problemas con la conexion siempre me dice que por problemas de conexion no puedo realizar cambios

  25. victor says:

    tengo problemas con la conexion siempre me dice que por problemas de conexion no puedo realizar cambios

  26. victor says:

    tengo problemas con la conexion siempre me dice que por problemas de conexion no puedo realizar cambios

  27. Unknown says:

    I\’ve got a strange occuence of this error. On my laptop the messenger connects automatically with login (Windows XP home edition, MSN live 8.1) In the taskbar the messenger icon goes to connected. If I try to open it the error occurs (81000378). At now point i\’m really connected. (Friends don\’t see me as logged in). On the same Laptop other users can use the messenger. Also my account is working on other computers. We have treid all possible fixes given in Internet blogs and by Microsoft. The problem started after updating from MSN 7.1 to 8.1. We found out that a lot of people have the same problem. Is there somewhere a cure for it?

  28. Merv says:

    If you haven\’t solved this problem yet, this works for the Kaspersky firewall, the Norton help file is in there somewhere, can\’t find it at the moment
    http://messenger-support.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!8B3F39C76A8B853F!3319.entry#postcns!8B3F39C76A8B853F!3319

  29. Jenna says:

    Hi i keep getting error 800701f8, it wont let me sign in. how do i fix it. thanks heaps.

  30. Unknown says:

    why do you kick me off windows live messenger
     

  31. Unknown says:

    oh yea.. if my answer works (from the comment i left before) and you dont know what to use for anti-virus protection after… u can try AVG free edition. i use it and my computer is running clean! :)  you can download AVG anti-virus free edition (anti-virus and internet security) here:  http://www.grisoft.com/doc/products-avg-anti-virus-free-edition/us/crp/2
    youll see a chart with three sections…the third one \’\’free edition\’\’,  download it if youd like!
     
     
    if your not sure about it… then im sorry i dont know what else to tell you!
    but i tried to help.  :s
     
     
     i dont have the exact answers, but i tried to help cuz it seems like no one else has an answer to this problem except for me, from what i had experienced with wlm. it sucked! all that trouble i went through trying to fix it when all i had to do is uninstall the \’\’out of date\’\’ norton anti-virus2006.  Now i can log into wlm. :D  and my computer & all things are good cuz i just learn more and more! :)
     
    (i really dont know if it will work for everyone but atleast i tried to do something about it!)
     
     
    ——————
     
    (another thing i had different errors before the 80072efd)- i dont remember the error codes but i also had a problem with the connection part.. where it was saying \’\’ your not connected to the internet and cant sign you into windows live messenger… blah,blah,blah… 
    well if u get something like this maybe your being like me… i didnt know my browser was set to \’\’work offline\’\’ (under tools of your internet browser) so just check it to be sure its not set to work offline! or you might not be able to connect to wlm. just a suggestion.   ….. (sometimes they are just the little simple things we keep missing)! :P :P
     :)   
     
     
     
     – Anyways- I wish you all Good Luck, cuz i know myself,
    it sucks not being able to sign-in to talk to your friends, especially those far away!  – :) :P 
     
     
     
     
     
     
    db.

  32. •ƒÐ• says:

     and for the rest of the errors, im sorry no answer.
     but goodluck in getting your problems fixed somehow!
     
    oh yea.. and woops! i meant Out Of date(not; out to date) haha. :P you know what i mean.
    (where i left a comment before this one)
    (sorry my english isnt perfect)
     
     
     
    peace-
     
     
    db.
     

  33. •ƒÐ• says:

     

    hello everyone!  
      I was having the same problem!(error 80072efd) couldn\’t log into messenger for weeks.. more like 2 months :(, and struggled the same way trying to get it fixed. everything i read on how to fix it didnt work.  so i Finally i figured it out on my own! and now it works :)
    it must be because of this: the same time windows live messenger(i am using 8.1) stopped working, I noticed that my anti-virus program ( the one i used was norton anti-virus) wasnt working either. while trying to see why it wasnt working, i uninstalled it cuz it just felt right…and it did say norton anti-virus 2006… now is 2007 of corse!  
    that was the problem for windows live messenger and maybe for some, also internet explorer. so maybe uninstalling an old virus protection program that is out to date, could be your answer!
    just uninstalling it might work for this error! cuz it sure did for me.
     
     
    Im no expert but IT WORKED!!!!
     
     
    please let me know if it worked for you- @       db_287@hotmail.com

  34. mona says:

    was a bad move downloading 8.1       now i cant log on,tried everything,, i even did the download all over again,, i keep getting the error 80072efd,  and it\’s not the firewall coz i turned it off ,,  obviously a lot have the same error so if anyone manages to get it fixed will u please try and tell us how!!! 

  35. Chris says:

    I TRIED EVERYTHING IT SAID AND …………………………… IT WORKED   :):):):)

  36. etoiler says:

    bonjour j\’aimerais avoir en francais s.v.p merci

  37. Courtney says:

    Yah well no Messenger program will let me sign in … talk about BS … :(

  38. Elcra says:

    i still cant connect the error is 80072efd
    i\’m having problem with my host file and i need help asap.

  39. Joëlle says:

    I can\’t log in either, error code: 8004005.
    Tried to contact Microsoft, and deleted live contact cache as they instructed.  It works.. for 2 days only!  The same problem comes back.. :S

  40. Unknown says:

    Hi!
    I cant sign in my msn messenger!could it be fireball problem?
    What can I do?

  41. Mette says:

    I cant log on. Code 80072ee7 ???

  42. Unknown says:

    I got two profiles.I can get into msn live messenger with one only. In the other case msn pop me up the error 81000378 which tells that my friend list is not available. What can I do?In first case I\’ve a short friend list in the second it is longer.

  43. javier says:

    soy nuevo en esto,me gustaria conocer gente interesante,tanto mujeres como hombres,e intercambiar informacion,etc,eyc.etc,saludos

  44. vbjosh says:

    this garbage always happens when i clean out my temp files.  Just go to control panel and repair it manually, easier than what i\’ve seen on here.
     

  45. joel says:

    I gt d smae erro ova n ova again no matter wat i do, the firewall thing is driving crazy!!! help PLZ!!!!!!!

  46. elena says:

    me es imposible entrer  en el mns mio y d  mi  hija  amigas d  aqui haber patriciacheca@hotmail.com, elenasimplemente@hotmail.com .sha_kitty_vallekana@hotmail.com por  favor estamos  incomunicadas

  47. Kate says:

    well I guess we dont have the answer to this problem huh? Been months now that this hasnt worked. What is going on with the HELP here?????

  48. Lee says:

    Big mistake installing 8.1 now i can`t connect! What the hell is 80072745

  49. pelham says:

    i agree with you all. this is a pile of shit and isn\’t worth the steam of my piss. i want my time wasted, back!

  50. sching says:

    error code 80072efd for windows live messenger 8.1 version..not firewall problem!! enable msnmsgr.exe in windows firewall but still not working!! even uninstall and installed again..i wanted 7.5 but it installed for me 8.1..

  51. isabel barbie says:

    Hi ..
    I have the same problem as Bianca.. AND IM getting pisst of.. I\’ve done EVERYTHING that some helpers told me to do .. but does it work?? NO..

  52. NARAIN says:

    hi. y i cant use msn live messenger. my firewall giving problem. hw i can remove it

  53. thomas says:

    this sucks, done all the things in the help menu now, and all the things on this page, but nothing works :(
    anyone knows where to download 7.5 ?? at least i can write my buddies then :P

  54. Micki says:

    Hey guys, I ran into the same problems the other day and being blonde I had no clue LOL…So i did a google search for the error code and found the fix on asksomeone.net I cant remember which page it was on sorry, but the bottomline is SOMEHOW certain codes were missing. It was easy to fix, just had to go to run and paste them back in again. So go to that website and check out the forums on IM problems and you should be able to find your answers!Hope this helps!!!Micki xxx…P.S let me know how you go!

  55. Michael says:

    I keep gettin the same thing constantly, can someone help????????????????????????????????!!!!!!!

  56. jai says:

    WTF….
     

  57. bal says:

    cant logg on!!!!  why cant i? code 800047475   ??????????

  58. sophie says:

    I cant find my fire wall thing!! it wont let me sign in becuse of fire wall!!

  59. jimmy says:

    Can log in but will not start conversation window, tryed shutting down restarting. this new 8.1 is a pain in the bum

  60. Unknown says:

    Sorry, this isn\’t worth the hassle.  I hate to admit this but AOL never caused me not to be able to log on.  I have tried everything suggested.  It worked when it was installed.  I left for a couple hours and came back and cannot log on.  B.S.

  61. Danielle says:

    my live messenger is ttly nakad!!! its ttly doin ma hed in!!! :(:(

  62. Steven says:

    omg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is doing my head in now i ave gt the same problem as Maegan n bianca* wat do i do?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!!!!!!!!!!!!! HELP

  63. Unknown says:

    Ugh. I have the same problume as bianca* ughhh!!! and I did a bunch of stuff, like changing my time and date settings, and my firewall settings.

  64. Unknown says:

    em windows live messenger em today email ocorreu um erro de inscrição e atualizar, pois bem ja atualei umas 3 vezes e nada de voltar ou atualizar today em portugues como antes estavas,  e agora queria ver quem manda email para mim e não consigo ver en today mail! que fazer?

  65. neliton Antonio Santos says:

    gotaria de revolver
     

  66. Fatma says:

    immmmmmmm not gona give up yet, idint loose it yet but im in the process of loosing it! i\’ve tried every thing and its not working! whats error 8100030d??? i didnt even find it in the messenger helpp site!
    fay

  67. Fatma says:

    immmmmmmm not gona give up yet, idint loose it yet but im in the process of loosing it! i\’ve tried every thing and its not working! whats error 8100030d??? i didnt even find it in the messenger helpp site!
    fay

  68. Callie says:

    hi, this is ridiculous!!!! i\’ve done everything i can think of to try and sign in to messenger but no luck whatsoever, jus wanna chat with my mates!!!!!!! HELP!! somebody please help me solve the problem. always got an error saying my id is wrong……. no its not!

  69. julie says:

    error code 80072efd is pi**ing me off

  70. Bianca says:

    AHHHHHHHH!! my msn is already an exception to my firewall and it STILL WONT LET ME SIGN IN!!!  omg it says Error Code: 80048820 and not only that but an EXTENDED Error Code: 80048412 what the hell do i do?!!??! somebody PLEASEEE HELP ME!!!!

  71. Alice says:

    The   tip was useless still cannot sign in and I still get the cde 80070002 report…

  72. Jay says:

    try checking your time on the computer that was my problem

  73. Unknown says:

    yr tips do not help at all. im getting really annoyed i just want to speak to my maytes! :@

  74. Unknown says:

    what the hell is error code 80072efd???can anyone help me all i want to do is go on msn to chat to my mates god!!

  75. Lester says:

    what the hell is error code 8004888d then can any1 help

  76. Jaclyn Michelle Schindler says:

    this doesn\’t work!! my MSN Live Messenger still won\’t let me in because of error 80072ee7….
    ugh!! isn\’t there another way!!

  77. Jaime says:

    Nice tip: Try to adjust the systems Time/Date at Windows Calendar. Sometimes it works ;)

  78. Aji says:

    Same here, cannot log in…what the hell is wrong, this happens after I upgraded my MSN messenger

  79. jarrad says:

    hey every1 i tryed heaps ay to get on msn and it said this shitty code lol.. i tryed heaps of shit ay so if u know a way please send me a email on how to fix it.. thanks l8er ppl

  80. jarrad says:

    its doesnt work.. tryed heaps of times… i justwant to go on windows live messager. lol………………………!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111

  81. rosie says:

    hello everytime I go on msn it does not let me talk to anyone ! why is it doing this..please help because it is drivin me crazy !! HELPP!!

  82. Arcisio says:

    Do you have Norton Internet Security. That\’s  the problem.
     

  83. Arcisio says:

    I fix my problem. Code80072ee7.

  84. Albert says:

    I also have promlems with error code 80070002, but I have no idea why. Windows messenger is working, but windows live messenger won\’t work. I ran live messenger without problems until I reinstalled windows, then it got f***ed up.

  85. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  86. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  87. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  88. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  89. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  90. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  91. Unknown says:

    your tips are useless nothing worked and i;m getting teally frustrated here so plz help me the right way PLZ
     
    thx

  92. Faton says:

    hej jag kan inte chatta med mina vänner via snabbmedelande därför att det står försök igen 

  93. Holly says:

    i have tried everything and i keep gettin the same error code….

  94. martha says:

    mmm quiero saber como puedo escribir ocn la pluma, q controlador necesito o q onda, no sé si esto sirva para eso pero nada se pierde intentandolo jjejeje ciao
     

  95. Amoi says:

    i still cant use my msn the error code 80072efd still exist tis is ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  96. Amoi says:

    i still can use my msn the error code 80072efd still exist tis is ridiculous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  97. Juan Pablo says:

    hey…
       i did NOTHING! and i cant get into MSN
    i already tried EVERYTHING!
    and this \’thing\’ still not working!!!
    HELP ME!

Leave a comment